Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts

Can someone recommend a brand of Vodka that's safe for us Celiacs? I've been told that Belvedre is okay but the bottle says it's made from grain. I've also been told that Stoli is okay but it's not exactly my favorite. I'm missing Grey Goose and Kettle One. :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


The distillation process gets rid of the gluten, so distilled alcohol ie: vodka, is safe. Some of the flavored ones are under suspicion. That being said, if you want to avoid grain alcohols, there are some fabu Potato Vodkas out there.

Blue Ice is from Idaho, and is readily available. Chopin is from Poland and is by far my fav Vodka. Grand Teton is a US vodka, but can be hard to find. There are also soy and grape based vodka's, but I haven't cared for them. I'm kinda snobby about my booze.


Positive Bloodwork 7/8/05

Inconclusive Biopsy 7/20/05

gluten-free since 7/23/05

Never felt better.

"So here's us, on the raggedy edge, come a day when there won't be room for naughty men like us to slip about at all. - Malcolm Reynolds"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I had found that even though distilled, vodka's made from grains were a bother.

So, I emailed a few and received this from Smirnoff:

March 31, 2008 Dear Consumer, Thank you for taking time to contact Smirnoff. We appreciate hearing fromour consumers because your feedback is important. You heard right Smirnoff vodka is made from corn. If you need anything elseplease do not hesitate to contact us again. Once again, thank you for contacting Smirnoff. Sincerely, Monica DSmirnoff Consumer Representative

March 31, 2008 Dear Consumer, Thank you for taking time to contact Smirnoff. We appreciate hearing fromour consumers because your feedback is important. Please be advised that all of the unflavored Smirnoff vodkas are glutenfree. As well as the Citrus, Orange, Raspberry flavored and the SmirnoffBlack are all gluten free. We hope this information makes your shopping alittle easier. Once again, thank you for contacting Smirnoff. Sincerely, Monica DSmirnoff Consumer Representative

There is also Luksusowa potato vodka which worked very well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Can someone recommend a brand of Vodka that's safe for us Celiacs? I've been told that Belvedre is okay but the bottle says it's made from grain. I've also been told that Stoli is okay but it's not exactly my favorite. I'm missing Grey Goose and Kettle One. :(

Ciroc (i think i'm spelling that right) is a vodka made from grapes and very tasty; however pretty pricey.


Kathy

Gluten free 3/08

Negative blood work/positive endoscopy

Fructose Malabsorption

Soy free

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Can someone recommend a brand of Vodka that's safe for us Celiacs? I've been told that Belvedre is okay but the bottle says it's made from grain. I've also been told that Stoli is okay but it's not exactly my favorite. I'm missing Grey Goose and Kettle One. :(

Smirnoff, Kettle One, Ciroc, Chopin and 3 Vodka (which is made from soy) are gluten free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites