Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

cutemizanie

Autism And My Son + Gluten = A Whole Lot Of Crazy!

Hi. I am very new to the world of gluten free. My hub to be has celiac as well as allergies to eggs and dairy. This has been a struggle for me. When I read an artical in Living Without about how Gluten and Casin can affect children with spectrim disorders I thought I would try eliminating it from my sons diet as he has a like diagnosis. We have seen a very big change in him.

It is amazing.

I am very frustrated at the lack of options I have, probably not because there are not options but really because my experience is very limited with cooking gluten free and knowing where the resources are.

I also feel so bad for my son becuase he has to deal with my hard pancakes and not very appealing lunches at the moment. Having thrust him full force into the gluten free world is sometimes overwhelming and all the time expencive. I had no idea how much alternative foods cost!!!

I will continue reading the previous postings here as you all have such a wonderful wealth of knowledge but if anyone has any hints suggestions ideas about how to bolster my will power and my pantry...LOL that would greatly appreciated. I would also love to connect with other moms who have kids like mine.

Respectfully

Annie

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

So glad you've found some ways to help your son, and that you've found this site! I'm sure you will have plenty of wonderful assistance from the many fine members here.

Here's a good place to start for info on which foods are safe and which are not:

https://www.celiac.com/categories/Safe-Glut...3B-Ingredients/

And for lots of gluten-free recipes:

https://www.celiac.com/categories/Gluten%252dFree-Recipes/