Jump to content
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

LovelyLisa

Communion Wafers

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I am a Catholic. Every Sunday when we go to Mass we receive Communion. The problem is the communion wafer ( the host) has wheat in it. Should I still receive?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No you should not. You may take the cup, but be sure it's not the one the priest puts a piece of the host in.

Here is the Bishop's statement on celiac and the Eucharist. http://www.usccb.org/liturgy/celiasprue.shtml

I also generally would try to be in the front of the line for the cup to avoid contamination from the others having received after receiving the host.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Priests will make accomodations for celiac. They can have a separate chalice and you receive from that cup. This is how my children receive communion. The main chalice has a piece of host added so it is contaminated with gluten.

You can also order hosts from the Benedictine sisters which are acceptable to the Catholic doctrine:

http://www.benedictinesisters.org/bread/low_gluten.php

You can read about how they make the wafers and you can also see that they do understand that gluten causes intestinal damage. Some choose this route so they can receive the host, while others choose the Blood of Christ alone (without the host added). Receiving the Blood of Christ alone is still Communion in full according to the teachings of the faith.

Sandy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm Lutheran, so we do wafer and individual thimbles of wine. I act like I'm eating the wafer (cup it in my hand and put my hand to my mouth) and pocket it when I get back to the pew. The wine isn't a problem since I use the individual cup. I figure God understands.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't, because even a minimal amount that may not make you sick will do some damage. I worked out a system with my priest that I go up with the eucharistic ministers and stand off to the side and receive the wine from a different cup. And if I'm late and didn't let the priest know I was there, I pray extra hard because I'm sure God understands.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't receive Communion every Sunday as a Catholic. Until recently, I used to just cross my arms over my chest and let the priest bless me. But when I started college and attended Mass at the Newman Center, I was told about the rice wafers containing < .01% gluten. It's been reported that it's still perfectly safe for Celiacs to consume; all hosts are made in a gluten-free and wheat-free environment. I believe another member posted the link where this information can be found. But anyway, since my youth minister has offered to have the gluten-free wafers at Mass, I don't worry about feeling awkward by only receiving a blessing, and eating the wheat host won't make me ill.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I recieve the wafer once a week, and that's the only time I cheat. So far so good. But everybody is different. Yes, I understand that I am still causing intestinal damage, but I "carry my cross."

Best wishes.

Brizzo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Lady Cyclist, where do u go to college?

I go to Robert Morris University in Pittsburgh, PA.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So recently my parents have become friends with a priest in our parish. He has come over here and "talked to me" about the whole not recieving thing. Fine, whatever I don't really care at all. I just feel like he is crossing the line on this topic as well as my parents like egging this on. I feel it is MY decision and I am choosing not to recieve the wine because of cc, and not to recieve the host because of gluten. I cross my arms and get a blessing because my parents don't want me to just sit down, fine but this is singling me out enough without telling me I should recieve just the wine. This is a problem because I don't recieve the host and so the person serving the wine is like pulling it away from me! This is realllllyyyy annoying I know if I have had my first communion THEY DON'T. I just feel like this is my decision not anyone elses and it's so frusterating.

Sorry people that read this I guess it's just a venting thing but wowza it bugs me!

btw...my dad doesn't comment on it(I think he gets my vibes that it's only my decision, and mother is i don't even know...I explain it to her alllll the time but she still brings it up so I give her the silent treatment. Also, I don't feel comfortable enough with this priest to open up to him, I don't really like him that much...I guess it's just because I don't know him enough to trust...thanks to anyone who just reads this and responds in any way to help <_<

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I am a Catholic. Every Sunday when we go to Mass we receive Communion. The problem is the communion wafer ( the host) has wheat in it. Should I still receive?

I was told of the <.01% gluten wafers at a local church where I live, not the church I attend. When I spoke to my specialist about the low gluten host he informed me it was a no, that I was still getting a certain amount of gluten. I too feel left out when my whole family stands up and receives the host. I sit there and feel as if people are wondering why I don't recieve, but then again it is my health that is important and I know I am doing the right thing.

It is a real struggle I feel for some people to decide what to do. But,(this is my opinion now) why would you want to do any more damage that has been done. God knows you are there (regardless of your religion) and that hopefully should be enough.

Good Luck. Lorrie

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I was told of the <.01% gluten wafers at a local church where I live, not the church I attend. When I spoke to my specialist about the low gluten host he informed me it was a no, that I was still getting a certain amount of gluten. I too feel left out when my whole family stands up and receives the host. I sit there and feel as if people are wondering why I don't recieve, but then again it is my health that is important and I know I am doing the right thing.

It is a real struggle I feel for some people to decide what to do. But,(this is my opinion now) why would you want to do any more damage that has been done. God knows you are there (regardless of your religion) and that hopefully should be enough.

Good Luck. Lorrie

It's not that I want to because I don't. It's that people just don't get it and are really becoming nothing but annoying, and I guess I was venting but thanks so much for listening!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My 10 year old granddaughter is Catholic and serves at mass and she has some 0% gluten wafers that are acceptable to her priest that she carries in a little receptacle around her neck....she goes first at communion so the wine is pure, also. She goes to that church's school and they are all familiar with her. The church they attended before they moved to the one they are at now, was not as accomodating. It is each individual priest/church and you must talk to your priest about it and show him what the options are.....you are the one that has to do the homework/show the piest how is must be done and then he will decide. I am sure they have talks about this now in the Catholic faith. As for me, I am Lutheran and I have supplied the church with gluten-free crackers snapped in half and the gals that make up the communion that day, just pop one in with the other wafers. I am gluten intolerant/not celiac, so this works fine for me.

Barbara

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
My 10 year old granddaughter is Catholic and serves at mass and she has some 0% gluten wafers that are acceptable to her priest that she carries in a little receptacle around her neck....she goes first at communion so the wine is pure, also. She goes to that church's school and they are all familiar with her. The church they attended before they moved to the one they are at now, was not as accomodating. It is each individual priest/church and you must talk to your priest about it and show him what the options are.....you are the one that has to do the homework/show the piest how is must be done and then he will decide. I am sure they have talks about this now in the Catholic faith. As for me, I am Lutheran and I have supplied the church with gluten-free crackers snapped in half and the gals that make up the communion that day, just pop one in with the other wafers. I am gluten intolerant/not celiac, so this works fine for me.

Barbara

I have done my homework and I realize the options. I have shared the options but they are NOT willing to give me a 0% gluten host. I also went to the catholic school for 7 years, pre-k to 5. He says that he's working on it but what is he working on when they already said I can't get my own host?. I guess this was just a venting thing and people don't understand =[.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When I attended a catholic school I was offered wine by the priest themselves instead of taking the wafer. They understood my condition, and I doubt your local parish won't.

But if they don't, I hear there are nuns that make gluten free wafers that you may present to the priest before hand to consegrate. I never tried this with my local parish when I was still catholic, but I know others who did and said it worked fine.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As a faithful Catholic and a mom of a gluten-free child I am really sad to read that those of you who are Catholic are having such a hard time.

I must write to say that some of you are missing the whole meaning of the Mass. We go to Mass to receive the body and blood of Christ. It is not just a wafer or communion and you should not take it so lightly. As a Catholic you should follow what Peter has passed to us and believe in transubstantiation - when you are receiving communion you are actually receiving Christ as he asked us to do at the Last Supper. As a Catholic you do not have to take the body and blood to receive Christ - you can receive one or the other or as most traditionalists do both.

The Catholic church is the oldest church and has withstood the test of time b/c it has held to its traditions passed down from Peter and has not wavered to suit this or that or this person's oppinion etc. If you look into the history you will have a better understanding and love of the Mass.

It is wonderful that the Benedictine Sisters have found a recipe which is suitable for most gluten-free people and approved by the church.

I pray that those of you who have misssed the whole purpose of the Mass find it and are able to receive communion either with the approved host or with wine alone. Unfortuantely not all priests are understanding and accomodating. The Liturgy of the Eucharist is the most important part of Mass. You may want to address this with your diocese.

May God Bless You ALL!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We have many denominations represented on this forum. Many of those denominations offer communion.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think to receive communion is a personal choice. I still partcipate in communion, having faith that God will protect me. The gluten content in our communion wafers are low-gluten level and I've never experience a problem and I react severly to exposure. But, that's just me. . .

It's a difficult decision; it's not something that's black and white.

Regardless of whether or not you receive communion, I firmly believe that God recognizes your effort to honor Him.

-Ash.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When I went gluten-free, my mom made rice crackers for me to take along to church myself...I am of no specific denomination, just "family-integrated", so this is for anyone who it might help...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
We have many denominations represented on this forum. Many of those denominations offer communion.

wow, i really don't know what to make of your response, but for those of us who are catholic, even though the above message is strong, it is a nice reminder; and other denominations have replied with their own solutions...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Personally I think that God created you and so he understands that you cannot have gluten and that most commuion waffers are made of gluten. So even if your preist, pastor, or family does not get why you are not taking communion I am at pretty sure that God gets it and that is who really matter anyway. He also sees who you are and not just your actions so he knows were you heart is at and that you would take communion if you could. Your relationship with God should be a personal and not dependent on tradition or how it something looks to other people. I have always been told that we take communion to remember the sacrifice that Christ made for us and I think that you do this without eating something harmful to your body. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I go to a Jesuit university, and have talked to priests and lay catholics about the best options to receive without appearing to be different. When I am at school, I watch to see which chalice the priest places the host in (although most of the priests don't seem to place it in any of the chalices, they hold it over it and then eat it). Then I wait in line, and as the person in front of me receives the host, I slide to the side and stand in line for the chalice. When I am outside of a Jesuit parish, I find that it is more common for their to be a piece of host in the chalice or for the communion to be host-only. In this case, I stay in my pew and pray.

When people question why I don't receive, I either tell them that although the host is the body of Christ which I will gladly accept into my body, my body considers the host's physical form to be poison and consuming Christ will put me through suffering which I cannot imagine the Lord would want us to suffer (serious/religious answer) or I remind people that the Bishop denied me Communion because I vote according the the Bible and the majority of the Church's teaching (sarcastic and changes the subject).

I don't receive the low-gluten host because it seems like a lot of trouble and fuss that I can avoid; however, for important events (ie my wedding), I will most likely sub in the low gluten hosts if possible.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I am a Catholic. Every Sunday when we go to Mass we receive Communion. The problem is the communion wafer ( the host) has wheat in it. Should I still receive?

Hello! I too go to church on sunday. i was very upset when i realized i could no

good luck :)

~Laura :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
As a faithful Catholic and a mom of a gluten-free child I am really sad to read that those of you who are Catholic are having such a hard time.

I must write to say that some of you are missing the whole meaning of the Mass. We go to Mass to receive the body and blood of Christ. It is not just a wafer or communion and you should not take it so lightly. As a Catholic you should follow what Peter has passed to us and believe in transubstantiation - when you are receiving communion you are actually receiving Christ as he asked us to do at the Last Supper. As a Catholic you do not have to take the body and blood to receive Christ - you can receive one or the other or as most traditionalists do both.

The Catholic church is the oldest church and has withstood the test of time b/c it has held to its traditions passed down from Peter and has not wavered to suit this or that or this person's oppinion etc. If you look into the history you will have a better understanding and love of the Mass.

It is wonderful that the Benedictine Sisters have found a recipe which is suitable for most gluten-free people and approved by the church.

I pray that those of you who have misssed the whole purpose of the Mass find it and are able to receive communion either with the approved host or with wine alone. Unfortuantely not all priests are understanding and accomodating. The Liturgy of the Eucharist is the most important part of Mass. You may want to address this with your diocese.

May God Bless You ALL!

not trying to start a theological debate at all, but to "receive" you do not need to ingest anything at all, in europe it is common for them to run out of hosts and wine and they "bless" the people but they are still "receiving communion" just not through ingesting anything.

i havent been going to mass while at school this year partially out of being busy and lazy, i go when i go home but i usually would receive but i dont feel the gluten is worth it and while there are a few options now the church is very strict on what is in the hosts, one of the main requirements is wheat so it is very hard to deal with this. i will probably either just take the wine or just not take either of anything from now on.

and as an FYI/trivia thing, up until a few years ago the church would not allow celiacs to be priests because they could not "fulfill their duties" as a priest. they still say that any one with a wheat/gluten issue or an alcohol issue should really think about it because of what they have to do

-matt

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Top Posters +

  • Upcoming Events

    • May 29, 2019 04:00 PM Until 08:00 AM
      0  
       
       
       
      Celiac Emotional Healing Support Group
       
       
       
      Again you are invited to join Johnny Patout, LCSW for Baton Rouge's first emotional healing support group meeting to assist those living with celiac disease manage the emotional challenges so many of us face. Most often the emotional disturbances include depression, disinterest in normal activities, insomnia, grief, mood changes, anxiety, inability to concentrate, extreme concern about managing a gluten-free lifestyle and other emotional and behavioral challenges.
       
      The professionals at Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center created the emotional healing support group to give us a safe place to begin to process our emotions and support each other as we heal emotionally while managing celiac disease and the resulting autoimmune disorders.
       
      The emotional healing support group meets every Thursday, 6:00-7:00pm, at the Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center of Baton Rouge. Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center is located at 4637 Jamestown Avenue, Baton Rouge, Suite B-1. Suite B-1 is upstairs.
       
      The support group is free and open everyone managing celiac disease. For more information: emotionalhealingforceliacs@hotmail.com
    • June 01, 2019 Until June 02, 2019
      0  
      Nourished Festival is a family-friendly event with 10 locations across the US. Attendees will be able to sample food, health and beauty products, meet with companies, learn about the most current food lifestyles, receive coupons and attend educational sessions with industry experts. 
      Nourished Festival, managed by The Nourished Group and presented by Enjoy Life Foods, is the largest gluten-free, allergy-friendly and specialty diet event in the US, with 10 locations including.
      ABOUT THE NOURISHED FESTIVALS
      Managed by The Nourished Group, formerly The Gluten Free Media Group, The Nourished Festivals are the largest and fastest growing special diet consumer events in the United States. Started in 2007, the events have expanded from one to ten cities throughout the country. The festivals cater to anyone looking to lead a healthier lifestyle or those who follow a specialty diet due to autoimmune conditions, food sensitivities, allergies or intolerances. Offerings including Paleo, Keto, Plant-Based, Gluten-Free, Allergen-Friendly and Nut-Free products. The events provide the opportunity for attendees to sample and purchase new products, receive coupons, meet with brand ambassadors and attend educational classes with industry experts. For more information, visit http://www.nourishedfestival.com 
       
    • July 07, 2019 Until August 03, 2019
      0  
      For more information, visit www.kefss.com or call (407) 255-6550. info@kefss.com 

      KEF USA Summer Camps Announces the New KEF Gluten-Free Camp in Orlando, Florida for Youths with Celiac Disease.

      [Orlando, FL February 6, 2019]-KEF USA is excited to announce that we will offer a new 100% gluten-free camp program to give kids and teens with Celiac Disease a safe, exciting and healthy summer. KEF USA programs offer fun and unique experiences that can only be found in Orlando, Florida. Campers explore the theme parks and local attractions, make new friends, discover new interests and create memories that last a lifetime.


×
×
  • Create New...