Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts

I'm new to this celiac world; 22 year-old daughter recently diagnosed. This is kind of a follow-up to a recently asked question. Someone please tell me about celiacs eating meat. What meat exactly can my daughter eat that is gluten-free? Last week I bought Steak House brand steak @ my favorite store; the label said "beef & natural flavors". Can she or not eat it? I'm in a quandry until I find out some answers. Thank you, friends.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


All meats and seafood in their "original" form are gluten free.

Look for meats that are not injected with broth or natural flavorings unless you contact the producer regarding their gluten free status or labeling policy.


Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, Momma Goose, for replying. So, for gluten-free meats, should the package say, under Ingredients, just the meat that I'm buying, or would there be anything else after the meat listed, such as 'organic', or 'grass fed'? Would there be some way of identifying it as gluten-free on the front of the package? I usually shop at Wal-mart. I'm just wondering if other grocery chains have the gluten-free meat. Any ideas? Thanks, again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The ingredients should just say "chicken" or "beef" or whatever meat you're eating. Grass fed or organic doesn't matter in terms of gluten-free. It's once you start seeing things other than the meat like flavours or chicken broth that you have to start calling. It's pretty easy to find plain meat, so I wouldn't even bother with the stuff that has other things added.


Gluten-Free since September 15, 2005.

Peanut-Free since July 2006.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The USDA has for a number of years required that anything added to meat that has nutritional value MUST be listed in the ingredients. Grains fall into this category. Because of this, all you need do is read the ingredients in meat. If it says flavors or broth but does not list wheat, rye or barley, it's gluten-free. No need to call the manufacturer.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites