Jump to content



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up

Recommended Posts


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


I did that, but you know how it is. You have to hope they understand what you mean when you say gluten. Haven't you read about restaurants offering gluten free salad and then putting croutons on it?

I need someone who knows the answer to this to please respond. Is caramel by itself, uncontaminated, ok? Or is caramel itself not ok. Thanks.

Link to post
Share on other sites
<_< well--i read the ingreds on the product--i have bought caramel ice cream syrup and been fine with it--try by reading the ingreds--especially if the company says it is gluten-free--i personally have had no problems with caramel--deb

Deb

Long Island, NY

Double DQ1, subtype 6

We urge all doctors to take time to listen to your patients.. don't "isolate" symptoms but look at the whole spectrum. If a patient tells you s/he feels as if s/he's falling apart and "nothing seems to be working properly", chances are s/he's right!

"The calm river of your life approaches the rocky chute of the rapids - flow on through. You are the same water. The rocks cannot hurt you. Remember, now and then, that you are the water and not the boat. Flow on!

Link to post
Share on other sites

I have never had problems with people lying about products or at specifically gluten-free restaurants.

It really is best to ask them because they may nt get everything from the US. Ask to speak to someone who knows about this stuff. Most companies have people in charge of knowing these things.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Definitely--your problem with restaurants is almost 100% because they don't understand celiac. Maybe they go looking for the word "gluten" in the ingredients list, so they think that wheat or rye is okay.

Companies will not do this. Actually, many companies will say they're not gluten-free, even if they likely are (such as Brach's with their candy corn) simply because they're petrified of getting sued. I think you should be pretty safe with companies.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Rolos are gluten-free and they contain caramel... don't know if this helps but maybe it's a good substitute for you.

P.S. If you have a nut allergic and gluten-free kid... PhillySwirl makes some great frozen treats that are made in a nut free facility. Not all products are gluten-free, but they boldly mark those that are.

Ruth

Diagnosed 3/03 (Positive Biopsy/Negative Blood Tests)

Daughter dx 12/03 (Positive biopsy/Positive blood tests);

Two sons (Negative blood tests); One on gluten-free diet (6/04) ... cured his persistent, severe headaches.

Link to post
Share on other sites

If a company says something is gluten-free, I trust them. This doesn't mean there will never be contamination, but I trust they know the ingredients are supposed to be gluten-free. You have to learn this trust or you'll end up with ulcers. Really.

Caramel AND caramel color in the U.S. seem to be gluten-free. From what I've read, I've quit worrying about caramel color as a source of gluten. That's my choice.

richard

Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd say if you call a company and they say their product is gluten-free then you can bank on that, the reason that the problem happens at restaurants is because you are asking a server who usually has NO understanding of Celiac, if you were to call the company headquarters you'd get a better response.

Most food companies are very worried about lawsuits (this includes restaurants) so if you go to the headquarters you will get the right info.

susan

Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks all!

They say that the valentines candy is gluten-free, and the truffles.

Here's the link:

http://www.vermontnutfree.com/

You guys hit the nail on th head, alot of it is learning to trust. After what I've been through with peanut and now gluten, I don't have a whole lotta faith in the competence of others to understand. I just start out expecting them to not know what I'm talking about. This was a smaller company, not a big one, so I was more weary.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Funny, I'm more trusting of the smaller "home grown" companies! I find the people at places like this (and at smaller 'neighborhood' stores) much more willing to say "I have no idea" and then try and find the right answer. I think it's bc they are "real people" who have a lot to loose...the reputation of their own hard work...and they want to do the right thing.

Bridget

PS -- I live in the town over from where the VT Nut Free is, and I can vouch for them! Also, the advertise in Living Without magazine, which I enjoy reading.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1 month later...

I can't have anything with caramel coloring in it, I know when I ingest it almost immediately. I have a list that says that caramel coloring can be made with Barley Malt, but US companies use corn because it makes a better product. I can't drink cola or use marinades with caramel coloring in them. So, who knows....

Link to post
Share on other sites

Are you saying that Coca-Cola has caramel coloring that contains barley malt? It seems very unlikely to me, since nobody else is getting sick from them and Coca-Cola is a huge company, thus, their products are used by so many celiacs. It wouldn't be worth lying about, anyway.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I just know that every time I drink Coke (or Pepsi), my stomach burns and kills me. But, I can drink sprite. When I ate the marinade with the caramel coloring in it, that was the only ingredient in it that was "iffy". So, I don't know. Maybe it is just me that it bothers.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Possibly you have problems with the colorings/dyes or something like that. Like celiac3270 said, Coke is a HUGE company and it would have alot to risk if they were giving out false info. I drink Coke products with no problems, and trust them.

-Jessica :rolleyes:

Jessica

Gluten Free since 12-31-2002!!

Kansas

Link to post
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




×
×
  • Create New...