This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Where Your Contribution Counts!
    eNewsletter
    Support Us!

Scope

MaryJ

MaryJ Newbie

Hello all,

I am new to this so please bear with me. My son's blood test came back positive for Celiac. When I talked with the Doctor she said to watch what he eats, burger no bun, watch wheat and gluten, etc.... Then she called me back and said the wanted to schedule the scope. So I called the Pedicatric GI to schedule and was yelled at for watching his diet. He has been gluten and wheat free for a week, they want me to put him back on gluten and wheat so he can have the scope. I am having a hard time with that because he is actually starting to feel better and has a smile on his face. I am at my wits end. I cannot knowingly give him something that is going to make him feel bad again. I don't know what kind of response I am looking for, just really needed to vent. Thanks for listening.

MaryJ

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

cruelshoes Enthusiast

Unfortunately, in order to register results on the biopsy he has to be eating gluten. Otherwise you risk getting hin healed up enough to show healthy villi, when he actually does have celiac. I know it's hard, we had to do the same thing with my son. But if you want to go ahead with the scope/diagnosis (I highly recommend this, especially with children), you have to keep feeding him gluten.

MELINE Enthusiast

Hello...