Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Guest spruette

Modified Food Starch ... Ugh!

Recommended Posts

Guest spruette

I am very new to gluten-free living. I saw a dietician and learned that I was not eating gluten free because of a few ingredients that appeared safe.

I have learned DO NOT TRUST ANYTHING THAT SAYS "MODIFIED FOOD STARCH". I was told most of it was corn. That is not true. The past week, I have been glutened three times assuming it was corn. WRONG!

So, I called Campbells to ask about their Chili. I assumed once again it was safe seeing that nothing said wheat or flour or anything like that. The lady says, it is not gluten free. But then follows it up with, "But you seem to be fine, so that's good." I politely told her that a lot of damage is done even though I "seem fine". She then kind of giggled and said, "Oh really?" I was taken aback by that a bit. And answered, "Yes, really." No big deal really, but why do people assume if you don't need an epi-pen, then all is well. And then doubt me when I say "it is damaging to me with or without symptoms." What's so hard to believe about that? I don't know.

My point is I thought there was a bill that was recently passed that told companies to list their allergies plainly for all to see. It passed in the white house, so that we wouldn't be confused by any ingredients? What happened to that, and why are most companies still not doing that?

Some companies that I find DO do that. MMMars , Banquet , Kraft (some).

I don't know - STAY AWAY FROM MODIFIED FOOD STARCH. Look how irritable I am? I am an easy going girl, this gluten IS dangerous to me. Grrrr to Campbells lady. LOL!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Modified food starch has always been questionable for celiacs. Unless it is a safe brand such as Kraft who won't hide anything we must call the manufacturer to make sure it is infact gluten free.

The bill that was passed and signed in August of 2004 does not come into effect until January 2006.

Some companies are already doing that so if you don't want to call the manufacturer everytime you see something questionable then stick with the safe brands that you know won't hide anything.

If I can help you any more just let me know. :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually the bill only covers the top 8 allergens. Wheat is in the top 8. Rye, barley and oats are not. So they will not be listed. We will still have to call, but it is a step in the right direction.

However, the bill says that a "standard" for gluten free has to be set by 2006. Which will help us out quite a bit.

Hope that helps.

-Jessica :rolleyes:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was thinking about that bill today. At leats this way if we see something listeing wheat we know to not buy and eat it. If it doesn't say we can call. It should make it somewhat easier!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unless it's a company that clearly lists gluten, assuming anything about MFS is not smart. And Campbells canned soups and other foods simply are not celiac friendly. Campbells does have a gluten-free list -- all you have to do is ask.

No matter what your experience it is true that the vast majority of MFS is made from something other than wheat. But that doesn't mean you can just assume it's gluten-free.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I recently emailed Campbell's from their site, checking on broths and got a list from them in the mail the next week. None of the chilies are listed as gluten free, but the Chunky Chicken Broccoli Cheese, Healthy Request RTS Hearty Country Vegetable, and Savory Lentil Select Soup were. Not much to choose from for soups.

I once called Kraft to check on Miracle Whip Light and the person I spoke to was not very helpful. I got the feeling she really didn't know what I was talking about--very discouraging.

My 4 year old son has been gluten and casein free since August 2004. It was recommended by a dietician because he has developmental delays in speech and social skills. Finding things for him in the beginning was really difficult. I'm still uncertain about a lot of things on the market. Most of what I buy is online.

He is doing a great deal better now. No more gastric problems and his speech is rapidly improving I wonder if he inherited difficulties with gluten from me. Very possible.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

With Kraft you just need to read labels. If it doesn't have gluten on the label, there's no gluten in the product. If there's some form of gluten hidden in something, it will say it, for example: modified food starch (wheat). That's why they have no list. Kraft is the most celiac-friendly company I can think of.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think the thing to do is whenever anyone calls a manufacturer, ask when they will begin complying with the new food labeling legislation. This will help them appreciate that many of their callers are concerned. It wouldn't hurt to mention how inconvenient it is not to have the labeling yet and perhaps how it makes you unsafe to buy products that are not clearly marked.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest gfinnebraska

I have started buying/eating Progresso Soup. They list "allergens" on the label after all the ingredients. i.e. "Allergens: wheat, soy, milk." I find it VERY easy to read and helpful!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just be very careful with Progresso and still read all the ingredients, even if it doesn't list wheat in their allergens statement. They apparently do not consider "wheat starch" wheat, and I've seen it in the list of ingredients but not in the allergen statement. So, beware and read those labels!!!

Bridget

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The reason that you had such a reaction to the modifed food starch is more than likely because it contained MSG. As I have already posted MSG is hidden in many foods with innocent names such as calcium caseinate,autolyzed yeast,rice syrup,caramel flavoring,stock,dry milk solids, milk powder, natural chicken flavoring,citric acid (if made from corn). These are only a few of the things to look out for or the question.

I'm sorry to here that you had a bad reaction, been there done that, it really stinks and it shoud be illegal! :blink:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites