This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

New Here

cymrudenver

cymrudenver Apprentice

Hello All,

I'm a newbie diagnosed via labs as a Celiac last week, I will be having my EGD tomorrow. I had my kids tested and my daughter Bryony (11yrs) came back positive today. My son garin (4yrs) was negative 18 mths ago on blood & biopsy but is allergic to corn. My daughter Lowri (22mths) came back negative for celiac disease - for now anyway!!

I'm worried about sending Bryony back to school, what to pack for lunch, how to halp her cope with going to outdoor lab for a week in September. She's a pretty good label reader, thanks to her brothers allergies.

I'm thinking my best bet is to cook every meal twice, one gluten free the other corn free since many of the gluten free pasta's etc seem to use corn as a replacement.

We have all been eating corn free since my son was diagnosed, but I think for us all to eat gluten & corn free is a little unrealistic.

I'll be heading out to get my new toaster, cutting boards, can opener etc this week.

I'd love to hear your success stories, I know we can do this, it's just figuring out how we will do this :blink:

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

psawyer Proficient

Welcome aboard.

Just for openers, there are plenty of gluten-free pasta items that are made from rice, and are thus corn-free.

ShayFL Enthusiast

I dont eat gluten or corn. And I have plenty to eat. I make one dinner. Everyone eats it or they can "fend for themselves".

You dont have to make it complicated. Try Tinkyada pasta. gluten-free and CF.

cymrudenver Apprentice