Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

my3kids

Modified Food Starch

Recommended Posts

Is modified food starch gluten free?


Type 1 diabetes - 7/96

celiac disease (positive biopsy and bloodwork) - 11/05

but not gluten-free unit 1/08 (denial)

Daughter celiac disease (positive bloodwork) - 1/08

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Is modified food starch gluten free?

Modified Food Starch is generally derived from corn in the US. By US FDA law, if it's source is wheat it MUST be listed as "Modified Food Starch (Wheat)".


Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Like Momma Goose mentioned if it has wheat in it they should note it.

More companies have now chagned the wording to Modified Corn Starch, which is really nice. Some are still doing Modified Food Starch with nothing next to it or put (corn) or (wheat) next to it.

With companies that I am familiar wtih I don't call but companies that I am not exactly familiar with that just have Modified Food Starch I either call or just don't get it.

Good Luck hope this helped some :)


Rebecca

Partial Gluten Free March 2007

Completely Gluten Free February 2008

Tapioca Starch/Flour Free April 2008

No MSG July 2008

Cut out Nitrates//Nitrites January 2009

Problems with Tomatoes and Potatoes -- Cut out Nightshades Aug '09

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites