Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

jmengert

Candy For Valentine's Day

Recommended Posts

I love chocolate, candy, you name it...and because this is my first gluten-free Valentine's Day, I was curious about gluten-free chocolates and such. I've heard that Russell Stover chocolates (I'm assuming that includes their Valentine's products?) are gluten-free...anyone had their chocolate without a reaction to verify?

Also, any other gluten-free candy that's out there? I know Hershey packages their kisses and mini peanut butter cups with Valentine's colors--still okay for us?

Thanks for any help anyone can provide!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


I have gotten the following candy lists from Jessica's (angel_jd1) support group, USA Silly Yaks:

Fannie May

PRODUCTS NOT CONTAINING GLUTEN

ALL CANDY BARS

ENGLISH TOFFEE

ALL SOLID CHOCOLATE NOVELTIES

HOSTESS MINTS

APRICOT BON BON

IRISH TOFFEE

APRICOT CREAM

IVORY & CHOCOLATE BARK

ASSORTED NUTS

MILK & DARK ALMOND CLUSTERS

CASHEWS

MILK & DARK WALNUT CLUSTERS

CHOCOLATE & PASTEL MELTAWAYS

MILK PEANUT BUTTER CRUNCH BAR

CHOCOLATE TOFFEE

PASTEL TOFFEE

CHOCOLATE WAFERS

PASTEL WAFERS

CITRUS PEEL

PEANUT CLUSTER

DARK FILBERT CLUSTER

Just Born Candy List

Following is a complete list of our current product line:

YEAR-ROUND CANDIES

Mike and Ike - Original Fruits, Tropical Typhoon,

Berry Blast Jolly Joes - Grape, Orange 'n Cream, Strawberries 'n Cream

Hot Tamales and Super Hot Hot Tamales

Zours - Original Fruitz and Punch Fruitz

Teenee Beanee Jelly Beans

SUMMER

Mike and Ike - Stripes

Marshmallow Peeps Stars

VALENTINE'S DAY

Strawberry & Vanilla Creme Flavored Marshmallow Peeps Hearts

Non-flavored Hearts

Mike and Ike Valentine Treats

EASTER

Marshmallow Peeps, Bunnies and Giant Bunnies

Strawberry, Vanilla & Orange Creme Flavored Marshmallow Peeps Eggs

Mike and Ike Easter Treats

Just Born Jelly Beans

Peeps Jelly Beans

HALLOWEEN

Marshmallow Peeps Pumpkins, Spooky Cats, Ghosts & Cocoa Bats

Individually wrapped Vanilla Creme Flavored Marshmallow Peeps Ghosts

Snack Pack and Variety Pack Bags - Mike and Ike,  Hot Tamales and Zours

CHRISTMAS

Marshmallow Peeps Christmas Trees and Snowmen

Holiday Cookie Flavored Marshmallow Peeps Cutouts

http://www.rmpalmer.com/rmcandy/glutenFree.asp -- Palmer's gluten-free candy list://http://www.rmpalmer.com/rmcandy/glu... candy list://http://www.rmpalmer.com/rmcandy/glu... candy list

Spangler gluten-free Candy

Q: My child has an intolerance to the gluten protein found in wheat.  What products do NOT contain this ingredient?

A: Dum Dum Pops, Super Dum Dums, Ice Cream Dum Dums, Saf-T-Pops, Swirl Saf-T-Pops, Astro Pops, Marshmallow Treats, Candy Canes, Cane Classics, Dum Dum Canes, Lemonhead Lollipops, Atomic Fireball Lollipops, and Picture Pops do not contain the gluten protein found in wheat, barley, rye, or oats. 

We have contacted our suppliers on the ingredients we use, including sugar, corn syrup, citric, malic, & lactic acid, artificial flavors & colors, starch, release agents, and processing aids.  These products do not contain the gluten protein that causes a problem for people with Celiac Sprue.

Russell Stover

Are your products gluten free?

To the best of our knowledge, our products are gluten free, with the exception of our cookie products such as Cookies and Creams, or S'mores. These products contain a small amount of gluten. This would be clearly indicated on the ingredient label as containing wheat.

Wonka gluten-free Candy

WONKA

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, celiac3270, that helps a lot. I'm assuming that because Hershey's labels include anything with wheat, etc. in it that their miniatures (the peanut butter cups and such) should be okay for Valentine's day, too, right?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes Hershey's will mark their labels is what I have been told over and over. :D I love Russell Stover candy we got some yesterday and I devoured almost the whole box :lol:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Argghhh! Kaiti, a question for you--I received some Russell Stover's candy, and the box clearly states that this candy was produced on the same lines with wheat, though wheat or any gluten containing product is not listed as ingredients--did you box say the same thing? I was SO looking forward to eating the candy, and now I'm scared.....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites