Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts

Does anyone have a problem with Tylenol? I ask because I am having a major itch fit on my thighs today, the likes of which I have not experienced since I was still eating wheat. I also woke up with more new acne this morning. The only thing I consumed yesterday that was out of the ordinary was extra-strength Tylenol caplets (I don't think I've taken an OTC painkiller more than a handful of times since I went gluten-free, actually). But I just looked Tylenol up on the web, and it is reportedly gluten-free. Maybe my body just doesn't like acetaminophen!

--Sarah

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


I've never had a reaction to Tylenol or Advil. They are on my gluten-free list too but I guess some people just have different reactions to different things.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It should be gluten-free, but you could be reacting to the Tylenol itself. If so, discuss it with your doctor the next time you are in. If you're allergic to it (and that's what the reaction sounds like) you'll want to avoid it, and have it noted in your medical record.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
They say that they can't guarantee that it is gluten-free so if you are really sensitive then you shouldn't take it, I get stomach problems when I have Tylenol

Molly, did they tell you that it wasn't gluten-free when you called? Because I heard that the extra strength caplets were and...I think some infants kind and maybe another. Anyway, did the company tell you this or do you suspect it based on your reactions?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest gillian502

Yeah Tylenol has always given me their absolute guarantee that they were gluten-free on most of their products, they even sent a list, and the extra strength caplets are on it. The above reaction definitley sounds like more of an allergy than a gluten reaction.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I reacted the same way which I do with gluten when I took them. I always took the same ones (which I don't remember because I haven't used them in two years) and was probably taking one of their non-glutenfree products.

They may be glutenfree now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites