Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Guest gillian502

Gum Base

Recommended Posts

Guest gillian502

Gum Base is listed on the "no" list here, yet one of the products I've called-the Charms company-of course adds gum base to their blow pops, and they are considered gluten free. So, ok or not ok?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Guest gillian502

I'm pretty sure I saw it here on Celiac.com on the "no" list, and yet alot of the products I have confirmed are gluten-free have it in their ingriedient statement.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a list that says the Charm blow pops are gluten-free. I always thought it gum base was fine but it is questionable and you have to check?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Blow Pops are without question gluten-free.

I just went to the safe and forbidden lists here and didn't find gum base listed anywhere. Can you tell us where you saw it? In more than three years I've NEVER seen gum base with gluten.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest gillian502

I'm looking at it right now. The list I printed directly off Celiac.com lists "gum base" in the forbidden category. It is listed right under "ground spices" and right above "hard wheat." This list I'm looking at is the one I printed off here about a year ago, so I will look here on the site now and see if it has since been removed. I swear my eyes aren't playing tricks on me--I'm staring at it right now! lol. I'll see if it's been updated.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest gillian502

Well it's been removed, right between the two things I mentioned, "ground spices" and "hard wheat" there is no longer a listing for "gum base", but it's right here on my hardcopy. Funny, someone must've caught the error and taken it off. One less thing to worry about! Speaking of it, does anyone around here chew gum and if so which brands are safe?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The current list I've looked at several times (including just a minute ago) does not have gum base. Maybe it did at one time but I've nver known gum base to have gluten. It is NOT a concern for us.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest gillian502

right, that's what i mean, it's now been corrected/removed. i'm relieved to see it was a mistake and is not a concern.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
;) whewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww, glad we cleared that up--it's in everything--it's getting harder everyday anymore---they add way too much stuff to everything--geez-----deb

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What's wrong with ground spices? I use McCormicks ground spices all the time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In spices sometimes wheat flour is used in spices to prevent clumping but most spices I have found to be fine. McCormick spices are gluten free. I use them all the time. :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The main ground spices threat is in spice mixes (and even then it's very rare). I've yet to find a pure ground spice with wheat.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gillian,

I am SO glad you asked this question! I have been so confused about this for the past year! My daughter was diagnosed in March of 04 and I printed up my lists then. Mine also lists Gum Base as a definate No, and so I haven't been able to figure out how gum could possibly be OK! I have heard that Wrigley's gum is gluten-free, but since it listed gum base, I was still scared to let my little girl have any. She will be so happy to chew gum again!

Just thought I would let you know you aren't the only one!

Michelle

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites