Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

strawberrygm

Help Filling Out This Form For School Regarding Celiac

Today is day 5 back to school.

So far we have been just sending her lunches.

She has permission to buy fruits, veggies, drinks, ice cream from the cafeteria.

I have this form to fill out, and I need your help on what to say. I am still new to celiac, so I dont want to leave anything out.

The following questions:

List any dietary restrictions or special diet

List any allergies or food intolerances to avoid

List foods to be substituted

List any special equipment or utensils that are needed

Indicate any other comments about the childs eating or feeding patterns

I also got a note from the cafeteria manager. She sent me the menu for the month, and said to let her know what days there wasnt anything lacee could eat and she would be happy to fix whatever she needed.

Thanks so much for your help and advice

dd age 12 -- diagnosed celiac via 2 positive bloodtests april 08 & biopsy june 08

ds age 5 -- bloodwork negative aug 2008

ds age 3 -- not tested yet

ds infant -- not tested yet

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

It is just SO hard because the risk of CC is SO great. It sounds like your cafeteria manager (CM) means well and wants to help, but even the best of intentions can go awry. It has happened to me too often.

A friend made pot roast for me. Called and went over my checklist and everything. She even bought a new cutting board!! Then I get there and it smells heavenly. She says she uses a "secret" ingredient. So I tell her I MUST know what it is to make sure. A bottle of BEER. BEER=GLUTEN. :(

So please be careful. It is your daughter's health (and future health) at stake.