This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Food Selections In The Common Market

River Faerie

River Faerie Apprentice

Hi,

I am brand new to this, and here's my second post already! I live in a teeny, tiny town called Kernville in CA. The population is less than 2,000. We do have a small market in our town, and a Vons about 12 miles away. The closest Trader Joes is down in Bakersfield, about an hour and fifteen minute trek. (Any ideas how I can get the frozen waffles home everyone is talking about?!) What would be really helpful for me is to know what regular products are ok, as of now. I have learned very quickly to check labels, but in case of emergency, what can I eat? For instance, my tummy has no problem with the rice chex. The Lay's potato chips come in handy once in a while for a snack. The hardest part I am having is coming up with some protein foods in a pinch. I feel low in energy at lunch, and all of the rice/fruits/veggies just aren't cutting it. Also, I am always hungry! What advice can you offer for the regular market?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Darn210 Enthusiast

Here is a list of companies that have good labeling policies . . . if they have wheat, rye, barley or oats in their products, they will be called out and not hidden in a vague term such as "natural flavoring".

Open Original Shared Link

This is an excellent list to have with you so that when you are at the store and haven't researched a particular product, you can look for a Kraft (or ConAgra or Unilever, etc) product and just read the label.