Jump to content



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up

Is There Such Thing As A Gf Marshmallow?


Recommended Posts

Hello everyone,

I am having the worst craving for "Rice Crispy bars" and have been on the mad search for marshmallows. I just can't seem to find any that happen to be gluten-free. :( Does anyone know of such a thing or a good substitute?

Also, I was told that I should change my toothpaste due to the fact that it possibly contains gluten, can you tell me what you use (gluten-free)?

Thank you for any help you can give!!!!!

~Sarah

Sarah

"Small Town" Minnesota, USA

Diag:9/04, positive blood tests

Trying to be strictly gluten-free

Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


I've never found a marhsmallow with gluten. Ever. With the Kraft marshmallow all you have to do is read the ingredients as they will clearly list any gluten.

In more than three years I've found exactly one toothpaste with gluten -- I think it was Sensodyne (I know it was one for people with sensitive teeth). Crest, Arm and Hammer, Colgate -- all gluten-free.

richard

Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest Leidenschaft

Hey Richard, I agree on the Marshmallow front, however I do use Sensodyne every day and don't have any problems. It may be a difference between their paste and gel however, or even Canada and US having different manufacturers?? I don't like the paste and have not used it since being gluten-free, I'm strictly a Gel type of girl! :D I did contact Sensodyne when I went gluten-free and they said that the products did not contain gluten but they could not guarantee it since they bought their ingredients from other places... vague I know, but pretty standard reply I find! :blink:

Is there another "sensitive" teeth paste that is confirmed gluten-free?

Link to post
Share on other sites

Thnks Richard!

Ok, I have to admit...The bag of marshmallows that I buy are store brand and they contain modified food starch. I just assumed that if the store brand did, they all did. :(

Geez, I remember my parents telling me as a kid..."whenever you assume things you make an *** out of you and me". lol They were right, I feel silly that I did not even bother to check the other brands.

I do use Crest, so I am ok. Thanks agaian :D

~Sarah

Sarah

"Small Town" Minnesota, USA

Diag:9/04, positive blood tests

Trying to be strictly gluten-free

Link to post
Share on other sites

I make rice krispy treats with Kraft marshmallows and a gluten free rice cereal. You do need to check with MFS though but Kraft does not hide anything so I use their products a lot.They taste really good...you should make your own if you have a craving for it .:D

Kaiti

Positive bloodwork

Gluten-free since January 2004

Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

Link to post
Share on other sites

I use a brand called Erewhon(manufactured by US Mills). I got it at a health food store. It says gluten free crispy brown rice whole grain cereal. It is also organic.

http://usmillsinc.com/usmills/search.php?s...=1168&x=11&y=13

This is a link to their site with gluten free cereals they have. :D

Kaiti

Positive bloodwork

Gluten-free since January 2004

Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

Link to post
Share on other sites

They are different when they are by themselves. I don't know if I'm used to it but when I make rice krispy treats they taste pretty normal. My relatives who are not celiac have these rice krispies too and don't even know the difference. Envirokidz has a lot of gluten free cereals that are good...haven't tried natures path but they sound like something that I might like to try.

Kaiti

Positive bloodwork

Gluten-free since January 2004

Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

Link to post
Share on other sites

Just got a thought... would it help if before the gluten-free rice crispies are made into marshmallow bars, they are lightly toasted in the oven to make them more crispy for the receipe?

Husband has Celiac Disease and

Husband misdiagnosed for 27 yrs -

The misdiagnosis was: IBS or colitis

Mis-diagnosed from 1977 to 2003 by various gastros including one of the largest,

most prestigious medical groups in northern NJ which constantly advertises themselves as

being the "best." This GI told him it was "all in his head."

Serious Depressive state ensued

Finally Diagnosed with celiac disease in 2003

Other food sensitivities: almost all fruits, vegetables, spices, eggs, nuts, yeast, fried foods, roughage, soy.

Needs to gain back at least 25 lbs. of the 40 lbs pounds he lost - lost a great amout of body fat and muscle

Developed neuropathy in 2005

Now has lymphadema 2006It is my opinion that his subsequent disorders could have been avoided had he been diagnosed sooner by any of the dozen or so doctors he saw between 1977 to 2003

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey Sarah,

I found some marshmallows on the glutenfree list for the USA. The brands are:

- Campfire marshmallows

- Fireside marshmallows - Walgreens Drugstore brand

- Jet Puffed

- Peeps

- SAFEWAY

Oh, and I just found Hain Kidz Marshmallow Crisp Bars: regular and chocolate chip are gluten-free. I don't know, if that's what you're looking for.

Hugs, Stef

Stef

Next goals:

Results for 2011:

1x PA State Champ (I defended my title in pointfighting) and also again Grand Champion in pointfighting

August 20-27: Karate and Kickboxing World Championships in Germany (my homecountry)

gluten-free since 07/21/2004

Shermans Dale, PA

Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes the bars by envirokidz are good. I love the berry bars and my mom loves the peanut butter. :D very good thing to try...I didn't know natures path made that brand...I keep learning new things all the time

Kaiti

Positive bloodwork

Gluten-free since January 2004

Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi you guy's!!!!

Thank you very much for your help, I did purchase the Kraft brand and found Barbara's brand gluten-free rice crispies.

I have not had the time to make them yet, hopefully this weekend!

Thanks Stef for the list. Always nice to have bars for on the go.

Take care all :D

~Sarah

Sarah

"Small Town" Minnesota, USA

Diag:9/04, positive blood tests

Trying to be strictly gluten-free

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 4 years later...
Hello everyone,

I am having the worst craving for "Rice Crispy bars" and have been on the mad search for marshmallows. I just can't seem to find any that happen to be gluten-free. :( Does anyone know of such a thing or a good substitute?

Also, I was told that I should change my toothpaste due to the fact that it possibly contains gluten, can you tell me what you use (gluten-free)?

Thank you for any help you can give!!!!!


~Sarah

-Jusr found these marshmallows brand name is Manischewitz, they were in the Kosher for Passover section of my local supermarket. Thet are made in Israel, I haven't actually tasted them yet but plan on making gluten-free rice krispie treats for my son. They have a web site www.manischewitz.com
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 4 weeks later...

Hmmm, GLUTEN MARSHMELLOW?

I didn't realise they have gluten in them. I thought they are pretty much gluten free!

That's why I've been thinking of indulging on them today lol.

Most sweets are gluten free.

Like Haribo jellies according to their labels are suitable for vegans and vegetarians.

Jelly beans are the same!! One of the main reasons' I've fallen in LOVE with them lately.

Plus since they come in various flavours, I get to taste all the other things I can not have lol.

Or other junk sweets like flying saucers and stuff like that are usually gluten free.

Wine gums, etc.

If you have a thing for chocolates, most dark chocs are suitable for vegans too.

Green&Black's small dark choc's vegan & vegeterian friendly + gluten free

but then the bigger one has whole milk powder in it so you still have to go through the ingredients lists.

But then Lindt big chunk 'may' contain gluten but I find them alright.

Hope this helps.

x

Link to post
Share on other sites

On the toothpaste front:

As far as I can gather from my experiences w/ Sensodyne, calling them, and what people have posted here, they *used* to use an ingredient that could contain gluten. Not a CYA statement, but rather a rotating, "where can we get this cheapest" ingredient that meant the produce really did have *trace* amounts of gluten in it from time to time. This was something like five years ago? (My memory isn't precise on this - it could have been seven for all I remember. Suffice it to say, it was a *number* of years ago.)

Since then, however, they have changed their sources and now - if I recall what someone wrote here about calling them - really do have only gluten free ingredients.

Of course, I just use Crest's sensitivity toothpaste. 'Cause I like it. :P

Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"

Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy

G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004

Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me

Bellevue, WA

Link to post
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




×
×
  • Create New...