Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

rothchild

Kozy Shack Soy Pudding

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Hi everyone!

I'm new to posting but have been reading the boards for awhile. I am not sure whether this has been posted before but I just wanted to warn everyone that Kozy Shack Soy Pudding advertises on the box that it is gluten free, but actually contains wheat starch!! I bought some yesterday because it said it was gluten free, but upon closer inspection discovered it wasn't. I was so bummed...

I am going to call Kozy Shack and let them know that they have mislabeled their product...though I am sure I am not the first to notice! I couldn't believe my eyes!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I eat they all the time. Distant memory recalls that hydrolyzed wheat protein, is when the offending protein is removed during the process, rendering it gluten free. You need to ask Irish Dave for the confirmation, though.

Is Kozy Shack

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have never heard of Kozy Shack Soy Yogurt. I didn't see it on their website. All the Kozy Shack products I have see are gluten free.

I don't eat anything with wheat starch in it. I suggest you contact the company and ask how they determined it was gluten free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

this can get so confusing! i actually don't have celiac...my husband does. I try my best to help him...I don't know you guys keep track of everything :)

The reason I was extra confused was because underneath the ingredients it said "Contains: soy, wheat" I will let you all know when I call the company and get an answer. Thanks for the input!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
this can get so confusing! i actually don't have celiac...my husband does. I try my best to help him...I don't know you guys keep track of everything :)

The reason I was extra confused was because underneath the ingredients it said "Contains: soy, wheat" I will let you all know when I call the company and get an answer. Thanks for the input!

I missed the SOY Pudding. Like Phyllis, I have never seen that product. I would be interested in what the company reply is. Good for you for calling. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I got a response back from Kozy Shack and it turns out that broncobux is right!!

Dear Valued Consumer:

Thank you for taking the time to contact us concerning Kozy Shack Soy

Pudding.

Consumer communication plays a vital role in the ongoing improvements of

our products. Your comments are always helpful and appreciated.

In answer to your question, whole wheat is composed of a protein

fraction and a carbohydrate fraction. When wheat starch (the

carbohydrate fraction) is processed, it is separated from the protein

fraction, which is where the gluten is contained. The protein fraction

is discharged and we only use the carbohydrate part that does not

contain gluten. This results in less than 10ppm of gluten per serving

which is more stringent than the FDA's proposed regulations for a

"Gluten Free" claim (which is less than 20ppm).

We hope that you will enjoy our products.

Sincerely,

Kozy Shack Consumer Response Team

I immediately told my husband the news because the soy pudding cups are really good!! He said he still didn't want to take any chances...I guess that means more for me!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The frustrating and sad part of this "gluten free wheat starch" issue is

that 10 years from now "they" could or may come to the conclusion that they

were wrong and it does contain gluten. And we were the ginny pigs.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I got a response back from Kozy Shack and it turns out that broncobux is right!!

Dear Valued Consumer:

Thank you for taking the time to contact us concerning Kozy Shack Soy

Pudding.

Consumer communication plays a vital role in the ongoing improvements of

our products. Your comments are always helpful and appreciated.

In answer to your question, whole wheat is composed of a protein

fraction and a carbohydrate fraction. When wheat starch (the

carbohydrate fraction) is processed, it is separated from the protein

fraction, which is where the gluten is contained. The protein fraction

is discharged and we only use the carbohydrate part that does not

contain gluten. This results in less than 10ppm of gluten per serving

which is more stringent than the FDA's proposed regulations for a

"Gluten Free" claim (which is less than 20ppm).

We hope that you will enjoy our products.

Sincerely,

Kozy Shack Consumer Response Team

I immediately told my husband the news because the soy pudding cups are really good!! He said he still didn't want to take any chances...I guess that means more for me!!

I agree with your husband, I would not touch this product. At least they tell you it's in there. That's a step in the right direction.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...