Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

mandasmom

Hydrolyzed Protein

Recommended Posts


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


A quick search will give you more than you want to know. It's been in lots of stuff for a long time. This used to be a red flag ingredient for people with celiac, but now in the U.S. any wheat would have to be listed.

"Hydrolyzed protein is protein that has been hydrolyzed or broken down into its component amino acids. While there are many means of achieving this, two of the most common are prolonged boiling in a strong acid or strong base or using an enzyme such as the pancreatic protease enzyme to stimulate the naturally-occurring hydrolytic process.

According to the FDA, hydrolyzed protein is used to enhance flavor and contains monosodium glutamate. When added this way, the labels are not required to list MSG as an ingredient.[1] "

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
According to the FDA, hydrolyzed protein is used to enhance flavor and contains monosodium glutamate.

Let me add that, monosodium glutamate may not be good for you, but it is not gluten related.


Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites