Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Luhts

Going Off Gluten Before Biopsy

Hi, newbie here!

I was just wondering why you go off gluten b/f the biopsy? To me, this would just be torture to have to start it up again and make yourself sick all over again. It this something that you are required to do?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

hi and welcome!

go OFF gluten before the biopsy? no, you need to continue consuming gluten until all your tests are complete. eliminating gluten from your diet will cause your body to begin the healing process and the damage may not be visible if you're off it for too long before the biopsy.

5/23/2008 - blood positive for antibodies

6/24/2008 - negative biopsy

8/11/2008 - DQ2 gene present

7/1/2008 - gluten-free

(and dairy-light until 12/1/2008)

The damage is done to the intestines by eating gluten. When you stop eating gluten, your body begins to heal. The goal of someone with Celiac is to heal and have their intestines look 'normal' and not like Celiac.

If you are gluten free when you have the biopsy, it can provide misleading information - your report may look like a non-Celiac, when in fact, you are a healed Celiac.

You have to be eating gluten for the biopsies to be accurate.

"A gluten-free diet should not be started until all diagnostic tests are completed, as the withdrawal of gluten can change test results" from: http://www.celiacdiseasecenter.columbia.ed...nts/A02-FAQ.htm

"All diagnostic tests need to be performed while the patient is on a gluten-containing diet." from the NIH Consensus Statement on Celiac http://consensus.nih.gov/2004/2004CeliacDisease118html.htm