Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

roxie

Pine Nuts?

Recommended Posts

Hey! I ate at Bonefish Grill a few days ago because I love their gluten free menu!! Anyway, I decided to have a salad (which I never do because I'm always suspicious of salad dressings). The salad is clearly marked Gluten Free, and I even asked for a list of ingredients in the salad dressing. It seemed to be gluten free. The salad was very basic, but it did have pine nuts on it. I ended up having SERIOUS D for 2 straight days!!! Has anyone had issues with pine nuts, or could I have possibly been contaminated in some other way. Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is just a guess..................I don't know Bonefish but I'd bet the pine nuts were cc'd. I eat them on occasion but then again.........each person is different. Have you had pine nuts before...?

Of course it could be cc with ANYTHING in the meal ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd be more suspicious of the CC coming from preparation in a kitchen with gluten. If a salad is labeled as gluten-free, I have to think that the ingredients are gluten-free. They could be in big legal trouble if the ingredients weren't checked. It's the method of preparation that can vary.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Disclaimer for certain people, but I know of no pine nuts that have gluten added. Doesn't mean there couldn't be CC somewhere, either with the pine nuts or something else, but in my experience -- and this does NOT include every single possibility -- pine nuts should be gluten-free.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I eat pice nuts all the time, Sweetie, it must be something else.

Are you feeling better? B)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for all the replies. So, I went to Bonefish again, and had the Cobb Salad. It had the same salad dressing as the other one I had, and it had pine nuts as well. No problems!! It must have been a fluke. SO GLAD - becaause it was Fabulous!! It also had jerk chicken and mango in it. It's a GREAT gluten-free choice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...