This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Touching Gluton?

Tykes

Tykes Rookie

I am still new to this. Have you found you get a reaction from working with flour for instance. I have a little son and I have liked to make him homemade bread and muffins and so on. I haven't because I am afraid - but I sure want to? He has no issues with gluton.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Lisa Mentor
I am still new to this. Have you found you get a reaction from working with flour for instance. I have a little son and I have liked to make him homemade bread and muffins and so on. I haven't because I am afraid - but I sure want to? He has no issues with gluton.

Gluten can not be absorbed through the skin, but the flour dust can be inhaled and create problems for you. If you have a gluten allergy, it may be an issue.

I would think that the dust from the flour would be everywhere in your kitchen and contaminate everything near. Maybe you can buy some good homemade bakery goodies for your son.

lovegrov Collaborator

Touching gluten alone is not a problem, but getting it on your body and eventually into your mouth can be. Washing thoroughly should take care of that.

You can also breathe in flour dust, which will then take it down to where you would swallow it. A mask would take care of that.

Still, it's best to avoid it when you can.

richard

Juliebove Rising Star

You really shouldn't. It's different for my daughter because she has an actual allergy and not celiac. Why don't you bake him something gluten free?

ravenwoodglass Mentor