This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gluten Intolerant And Weight Gain?

angelaw

angelaw Newbie

Hi everyone,

I just joined this forum today. I apologize if I don't use the correct terminology since I'm only starting to learn about this subject.

My first cousin was diagnosed with celiac's disease two or three years ago. She just found out that both of her parents have the gene for it, which means that my mother and I could have the intolerance also.

I've been struggling with my health for some time now and I'm wondering if I could be gluten intolerant.

I've been seeing a nutritionist and she found out that I have some blood sugar issues and some hormone issues (I'm only 29!!), and she's been helping me tremendously with those.

However, I cannot seem to lose weight.

I've been slowly gaining weight the last two years. Since I started seeing the nutritionist, I've been steady with my weight but can't lose. She put me on the carbohydrate addict's diet and it has done wonders for my blood sugar but I have stuck to it since July 2nd and have not lost weight!! As for exercise -I am not an athlete, but I'm not a couch potato either - I'm moderately active. And being relatively young I know I should be able to lose weight with what I'm doing!!

I also have fatigue, irritability, and bloating that seem to increase when I eat wheat (I gained 6 pounds in one day after I had a cinnamon raisin bagel!). I also have this weird symptom where I get a sore throat with clear blisters on the back of my throat.