• Join Our Community!

Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Silliest of Yaks

Is It Cheating If You've Already Been Glutened?

Rate this topic

Hi everyone! I'm on my 4th month of Celiac Dx and gluten-free, and new to the boards.

I'm writing because I had my first obvious gluten "accident" about a month ago - I found cruton crumbs in my salad at a pizza place, and it really got me thinking. The thing is, I felt HORRID the next day (digestive issues, killer headache, and really agitated), every bit as bad as when I had eaten pizza and/or beer before my diagnosis. The next day I grumbled, "I may as well have eaten the pizza." But then I started to wonder about that... and I've been craving Guinness for 4 months...

Once the immune system is fired up, does quantity make much difference? I ate much more gluteny things on a regular basis before my diagnosis, and didn't always feel as bad as that day! No matter how hard I try, I'm bound to have another gluten accident at some point in my life, and I'm tempted to treat it as an opportunity.

I'm guessing there are probably good reasons not to do this, but the temptation is there. Veterans, please help me learn from your wisdom!

Hi everyone! I'm on my 4th month of Celiac Dx and gluten-free, and had my first obvious gluten "accident" about a month ago - I found cruton crumbs in my salad at a pizza place. The thing is, I felt HORRID the next day (digestive issues, killer headache, and really agitated), every bit as bad as when I had eaten pizza and/or beer before my diagnosis! The next day I grumbled, "I may as well have eaten the pizza." But then I started to wonder about that... and I've been craving Guinness for 4 months...