Jump to content
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

2boysmama

Envirokidz Rice Bars Now Have Soy!

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Recently my DH went to Whole Foods and bought EnviroKidz rice bars (a regular staple at our house). My younger son is allergic to dairy, soy, and eggs along with his gluten intolerance. I noticed the boxes looked different, flipped it over and the berry ones now contain soy lecithin. :angry: He had a couple bites of one while I was reading the label....the next morning he got diarrhea, diaper rash, and was SUPER irritable all day. :angry: Why in the heck would they start adding that crap?!

Anyway, just thought I'd let you all know.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
:angry: Why in the heck would they start adding that crap?!

Anyway, just thought I'd let you all know.

I so agree. I am always leary when i see a packaging change.

thanks for the up date.

i am finding soy more and more in my old stands bys :ph34r:

Judy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You should write a little email to customer service to voice your frustration. I wonder if more people did that regularly, especially when a regularly purchased item changes formula-good or bad-companies might pay more attention. Maybe wishful thinking on my part. I'll send an email to them. We are regular buyers of their products too.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Recently my DH went to Whole Foods and bought EnviroKidz rice bars (a regular staple at our house). My younger son is allergic to dairy, soy, and eggs along with his gluten intolerance. I noticed the boxes looked different, flipped it over and the berry ones now contain soy lecithin. :angry: He had a couple bites of one while I was reading the label....the next morning he got diarrhea, diaper rash, and was SUPER irritable all day. :angry: Why in the heck would they start adding that crap?!

Anyway, just thought I'd let you all know.

They've had soy for a long time. I don't know when they first put it in. But I couldn't find any locally for a long time so I placed an order online and got 5 boxes of them. I was shocked when they arrived and they had soy in there. Daughter was allergic to soy but has now outgrown it. I had to give them away. That was about 2 years ago so I know they've had soy for at least that long.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is such a drag- I love them. Enjoy Life has bars (I like the Caramel Apple best) that have no major allergens. They're not rice crispy treat-like but not bad.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
They've had soy for a long time. I don't know when they first put it in. But I couldn't find any locally for a long time so I placed an order online and got 5 boxes of them. I was shocked when they arrived and they had soy in there. Daughter was allergic to soy but has now outgrown it. I had to give them away. That was about 2 years ago so I know they've had soy for at least that long.

Nope, unless I'm missing something. I even double-checked it online (where they show an "old" box).

Here's one: (scroll down for the ingredient list) http://www.vitacost.com/Natures-Path-Envir...Crispy-Rice-Bar

Here's the new one - unless it's a completely different product (I wasn't the one who went to the store, so that's why I'm not sure) : http://www.naturespath.com/products/bars/c...rispy_rice_bars

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Nope, unless I'm missing something. I even double-checked it online (where they show an "old" box).

Here's one: (scroll down for the ingredient list) http://www.vitacost.com/Natures-Path-Envir...Crispy-Rice-Bar

Here's the new one - unless it's a completely different product (I wasn't the one who went to the store, so that's why I'm not sure) : http://www.naturespath.com/products/bars/c...rispy_rice_bars

I believe that's an old ingredient list. I do remember the boxes looking like that but at some point they changed it to say canola or soybean oil. The boxes I got 2 years ago said that and my daughter did react. I guess I didn't notice that may contain notice though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Nope, unless I'm missing something. I even double-checked it online (where they show an "old" box).

Here's one: (scroll down for the ingredient list) http://www.vitacost.com/Natures-Path-Envir...Crispy-Rice-Bar

Here's the new one - unless it's a completely different product (I wasn't the one who went to the store, so that's why I'm not sure) : http://www.naturespath.com/products/bars/c...rispy_rice_bars

Hmmm... The old ones had a Cheetah and the new ones have a penguin. Luckily daughter has decided she doesn't like them so no worries there. Was nice to have a quick to grab bar on those days when I can't get her moving.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I think they are two different products but both contain some form of soy. One is the Cheetah Berry and the other is the Pengiun Fruity Burst.

http://www.naturespath.com/products/envirokidz

ohhh I see what you're looking at. I did miss the soybean oil ingredient. For some reason my son doesn't seem to react to soybean oil, and from what I understand some soy-allergic individuals can tolerate soybean oil, but he most definitely reacts to soy lecithin - irritability (MAJOR irritability) diarrhea, diaper rash...the "new" rice bars are new to my area (the ones with the penguin) - I've never seen them before. I wonder if they'll be replacing the cheetah ones with those?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I so agree. I am always leary when i see a packaging change.

thanks for the up date.

i am finding soy more and more in my old stands bys :ph34r:

Judy

Same here. I hate that garbage, it's almost as pervasive as glutens.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Same here. I hate that garbage, it's almost as pervasive as glutens.

This is the ingred list from the Penguin Fruity Burst Crispy Rice Bars

Organic brown rice flour, organic brown rice syrup, organic honey, organic fruity pieces (organic evaporated cane juice, organic rice syrup, organic coconut oil, citric acid, natural flavors, beet color, organic turmeric, organic soy lecithin), organic soy oil, organic invert cane syrup, organic evaporated cane juice, organic corn starch, organic acacia gum, natural flavors,

organic molasses, organic rice bran extract.

May contain peanuts, tree nuts or dairy ingredients.

Some of us can tolorate the soy lecithin and not the soybean oil.

Isn't it amazing how different we all are.

I see the soybean oil in ALMOST EVERYTHING NOW.

i think maybe it's a ''stretcher'' to add bulk to the darn stuff.

The things in red I can't have. I haven't eaten these in years. Just gave up on fast snacks like this. I sure miss it though. :ph34r:

Judy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
This is the ingred list from the Penguin Fruity Burst Crispy Rice Bars

Organic brown rice flour, organic brown rice syrup, organic honey, organic fruity pieces (organic evaporated cane juice, organic rice syrup, organic coconut oil, citric acid, natural flavors, beet color, organic turmeric, organic soy lecithin), organic soy oil, organic invert cane syrup, organic evaporated cane juice, organic corn starch, organic acacia gum, natural flavors,

organic molasses, organic rice bran extract.

May contain peanuts, tree nuts or dairy ingredients.

Some of us can tolorate the soy lecithin and not the soybean oil.

Isn't it amazing how different we all are.

I see the soybean oil in ALMOST EVERYTHING NOW.

i think maybe it's a ''stretcher'' to add bulk to the darn stuff.

The things in red I can't have. I haven't eaten these in years. Just gave up on fast snacks like this. I sure miss it though. :ph34r:

Judy

It is funny. My son seems to be able to handle whole soybean flour and soy oil, but any other form of soy - forget it. I have high hopes he'll outgrow his allergies (egg and dairy along with the soy), like big brother did when he was 3.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
It is funny. My son seems to be able to handle whole soybean flour and soy oil, but any other form of soy - forget it. I have high hopes he'll outgrow his allergies (egg and dairy along with the soy), like big brother did when he was 3.

I thought my daughter could handle soybean oil because she has eaten some restaurant food with it in there and not reacted. She outgrew the soy allergy but we still limit its use due to the fact that it seemed to cause a thyroid problem for me. That problem is gone now that I have severely limited it in my diet.

At any rate, she reacted badly to these bars with stomach pains and a nosebleed. She normally gets nosebleeds from peanuts and I see that these may contain them. I may have just forgotten it now but I may have decided to allow the bars because at the time there were no others free of her allergens. Now there are Enjoy Life and Organ (I think that's the brand) and she has outgrown the gluten allergy so that opens a few more doors.

More recently I have been giving her Glenny's rice bars but they have a may contain peanuts and she has gotten nosebleeds from those. *sigh* It's always something.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...