This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Where Your Contribution Counts!
    eNewsletter
    Support Us!

Dating And Celiac

hermitgirl

hermitgirl Contributor

I am just wondering, as I am still fairly new to the Celiac lifestyle, (diagnosed in Sept)if anyone has had experience with the whole dating thing. I am single, would like to start dating again, but am feeling like this is really going to cause havoc even trying to meet someone. I am a member of the local support group, but I seem to be the only one who isn't a teenager or a grandparent. I am in my 30's and am kind of feeling like I am the only one in my age bracket (I know I am not, it just feels like it)l.... Any ideas? Much appreciated.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

MySuicidalTurtle Enthusiast

I dated a few guys after being diagnosed. It wasn't such a big deal since the guys I was with were caring. If they hadn't been, it wouldn't have gone much further. Just be prepared with a few places to eat so you don't have to end up with no where to go. Good luck and have fun!

caek-is-a-lie Explorer

Well, I'm in your age bracket, but I was already with my life parter when I started eating gluten-free. However, I had my neurological problems before I met him, so what I can tell you is this. And trust me because I've been in some baaaad relationships in the past.

If you start dating and they aren't accepting and tolerant of your needs and won't eat at places that will accommodate you, then dump their sorry butt like a rotten turkey.