This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

My Bread Won't Rise

sillyken

sillyken Enthusiast
:blink: I have a toastmaster breadmachine and I love it. I have been trying out a new recipe from Betty Hagmans book Comfort Foods. It is a bread recipe using teff flower. The problem is I use white vinegar instead of dough enhancer and I'm using red star yeast and the bread won't rise. any ideas why?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Canadian Karen Community Regular

Are you using rapid rise yeast?

Karen

sillyken Enthusiast

I used red star yeast that comes in a little packet. Should I be using rapid rise?

catfish Apprentice

Rapid rise will work more quickly, but it should still rise even if you aren't using rapid rise. There are two or three likely problems here;

1- Are you using the right amount of sugar? Without sugar the bread won't rise.

2- Are you using warm water? Cold water will slow the yeast to the point where it won't do anything, and hot water will kill the yeast. Also, store the rising bread in a warm place (I put mine on the top of the oven as it's preheating)

3- How old is the yeast you are using? If it is more than a year or two, throw it out and get some fresh yeast.

Hopefully these ideas will help.

sillyken Enthusiast

Thanks for the advice.

1) the recipe only calls for a pinch of sugar maybe for the breadmachine I'll need more.

2) I am using a bread machine and the water is warm

3) I used packets of yeast that had not been opened.