Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

sillyken

My Bread Won't Rise

:blink: I have a toastmaster breadmachine and I love it. I have been trying out a new recipe from Betty Hagmans book Comfort Foods. It is a bread recipe using teff flower. The problem is I use white vinegar instead of dough enhancer and I'm using red star yeast and the bread won't rise. any ideas why?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Rapid rise will work more quickly, but it should still rise even if you aren't using rapid rise. There are two or three likely problems here;

1- Are you using the right amount of sugar? Without sugar the bread won't rise.

2- Are you using warm water? Cold water will slow the yeast to the point where it won't do anything, and hot water will kill the yeast. Also, store the rising bread in a warm place (I put mine on the top of the oven as it's preheating)

3- How old is the yeast you are using? If it is more than a year or two, throw it out and get some fresh yeast.

Hopefully these ideas will help.

Thanks for the advice.

1) the recipe only calls for a pinch of sugar maybe for the breadmachine I'll need more.

2) I am using a bread machine and the water is warm

3) I used packets of yeast that had not been opened.

Could the other problem be that the recipe is for oven baking and not breadmachines. If so how do you adjust the recipe for the breadmachine? Any suggestions?

The yeast can go bad even if it isn't opened, if it is old.

The problem could also be that most bread machines are programmed for 2 risings, as with normal bread the yeast will cause a first rise which the bread machine will then "punch down" with a second kneeding and then allow a second rise to take place.