Jump to content



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up

Can Celiacs Eat Corn?


Recommended Posts

Hello! My son is suspect to have celiac disease and I have been feeding him alot of corn on the cob (since that's one of the only things I can get him to eat). I was recently told by someone that it is typically thought to be gluten-free, but is NOT gluten-free. I knew all of you would know for sure.

Thanks

Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Why wouldn't it be gluten-free? Unless there were spices or flavorings somehow added, I don't see why it wouldn't be. Unless someone is referring to corn gluten, which is perfectly harmless--it's simply the protein in corn, but it causes absolutely no damage to celiacs. We use the term gluten referring to the gluten in wheat, barley, rye, etc. but there are other forms of gluten, such as corn, that are harmless.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I have never heard of corn on the cobb not being gluten-free but hopefully Richard will "weigh in" with his expert opinion soon...

If you are feeding him frozen, check the label.

-Kate

-Kate

gluten-free since July 2004

Other Intolerances:

Strawberries and Banannas (2007)

Nitrates (April 2006)

Yeast (which includes all vinegar so no condiments) (Oct. 2004)

Peanuts (Nov. 2004)

Soy (Oct. 2004)

Almonds (Sept. 2004)

Corn (Sept. 2004)

Lactose/Casein (1999)

Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, celiac3270 is right. Corn is glutenfree unless there are gluten containing spices and flavorings added.

Stef

Next goals:

Results for 2011:

1x PA State Champ (I defended my title in pointfighting) and also again Grand Champion in pointfighting

August 20-27: Karate and Kickboxing World Championships in Germany (my homecountry)

gluten-free since 07/21/2004

Shermans Dale, PA

Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah everyone who posted is correct corn is gluten free. There is such things as corn gluten but that is ok for celiacs because it is corn so maybe they got confused. We can't have wheat,rye,barley,oats. Unless there is a seasoning added that is not gluten free then you shouldn't worry.

Kaiti

Positive bloodwork

Gluten-free since January 2004

Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep that is correct Carrie :D

Kaiti

Positive bloodwork

Gluten-free since January 2004

Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

Link to post
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




×
×
  • Create New...