pogirl1786

Depression

Rate this topic

hi there, i'm 17 and i was told i might have celiac disease and to go gluten free about three or four months ago. most of the pain and problems have eased a bit, except for a few bad days here and there. i have felt a lot better since getting off the gluten and on my good days, i feel better than normal. however, there are still some days when i get somewhat depressed. i think some of it has been related to stress and some to unintentional gluten intake. i was wondering if anyone else has the same problem i do with feeling down sometimes. my mom wanted to ask my doctor about muscle relaxers or depression pills, but i really don't want to do that. so i wonder if other people deal with the same depression i am dealing with, or if it is just me. any feedback would be appreciated. thanks :)

Ads by Google:
Ads by Google:

Hi! This is my first time on the forum. My son was about 1 1/2 when we first learned that he was a celiac. He is 36 now and in very good health. He had a period of time when he was in his 20s that we think the celiac went into remission, or at least he didn't seem to be too bothered with digestive symptoms. When he was diagnosed, (1971) there was little known about the problem. He was so sick and the doctors didn't know what was wrong, but he responded to a gluten free diet. Back then, there were very little resources to learn the new way of cooking. (we didn't have computers to share knowledge) Only option was rice flour.