This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

First Time: Making Dinner For Family W/ Celiac's Disease. Help!

CarsonAndStella

CarsonAndStella Newbie

Moms from my daughter's preschool are making dinners for a preschool family. Sad Sad story. :(

The dad has celiac's disease. There are 3 small boys and the parents. This is my first time trying to make a gluten-free dinner. I take dinner to them on thursday.

ANY IDEAS on kid-friendly meals? I'd like to make one meat/main dish, two side dishes and a dessert.

Please -- any ideas on what to make would be helpful. I'm guessing i can make something that the boys/mom can eat but the dad cant'; but want to be respectful . . . any hints appreciated as well.

thanks

carsonandstella in the midwest

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

MaryJones2 Enthusiast

The gluten-free diet is pretty hard to master - especially if you don't keep a gluten-free kitchen and aren't familiar with it. If the others in the family don't have celiac I'd suggest focusing on them and taking dad a store bought frozen gluten-free meal and dessert or something (Amys Kitchen, Whole Foods Bakehouse, etc.). I don't know the exact circumstances here but can tell you most of us would love and appreciate you but would be rather uncomfortable eating the food because a microscopic amount will make us sick.

hannahp57 Contributor