Jump to content
  • Sign Up
Cameos4u

Blue Diamond Almonds- Feedback From Company

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Hello All,

Just wanted to pass along what we learned from the Blue Diamond Growers today. I had inquired about the Smokehouse Almonds as the labeling was unclear. This is what they said:

Thank you for contacting Blue Diamond Growers.

Yes. The Smokehouse Almonds are in fact gluten free.

Our Gluten Free products include:

NUT-THINS Crackers (all 6 flavors)

o made with no wheat or gluten ingredients

o made in a facility that does make wheat products - BUT production of these is isolated and produced on a dedicated line

ALMOND BREEZE non-dairy almond milk beverage

o no wheat or gluten ingredients are used in making this product line

o product is made on a dedicated line

Most of our almonds are wheat & gluten free. The ones you will want to avoid are the following:

o AVOID BOLD Wasabi & Soy Sauce (wheat is in the seasonings and is listed on the label)

o AVOID - Jordan Almonds

We just received confirmation for our seasonings supplier that the new OVEN ROASTED CINNAMON-BROWN SUGAR & OVEN ROASTED VANILLA BEAN are in fact gluten-free, along with the OVEN ROAST NO SALT and OVEN ROAST SEA SALT.

If I can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact me.

Deborah Sommers

Consumer Advocate

Marketing Department

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks! That's great. I bought a box of Almond NutThins and saw afterwards that there's a cross-contamination warning, and got sad, but now I can break them open with a flourish!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That information is incorrect. No where on packaging of Blue Diamond Smokehouse almonds does it state Gluten free. Anyone who is, and has been gluten free due to allergies would/should know better than to ingest a processed food that also does not state on label it is gluten free. Plus, a known gluten containing ingredient Soy is clearly labeled on package. I am extremely allergic to the Blue Diamond Smokehouse almonds, and am gluten intolerant with no almond allergies.  I can eat roasted or raw almonds, and other almond processed food with no issue, but of course buy only processed products that are labeled gluten free. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, hometownhappy said:

That information is incorrect. No where on packaging of Blue Diamond Smokehouse almonds does it state Gluten free. Anyone who is, and has been gluten free due to allergies would/should know better than to ingest a processed food that also does not state on label it is gluten free. Plus, a known gluten containing ingredient Soy is clearly labeled on package. I am extremely allergic to the Blue Diamond Smokehouse almonds, and am gluten intolerant with no almond allergies.  I can eat roasted or raw almonds, and other almond processed food with no issue, but of course buy only processed products that are labeled gluten free. 

I think your thinking of "Soy Sauce" which is fermented soy, wheat and salt as a basis. Actual pure soy does not contain gluten.....thought as mentioned above many of us with gluten issues are also intolerant to soy. PS this is a very old thread, ALWAYS check ingridents on the actual product and email the companies and when in doubt throw it out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Are Blue Diamond products "gluten free?"

     

    Most of our products do not contain ingredients derived from wheat or other gluten grains. The following Blue Diamond products contain gluten:

    • Jordan Almonds
    • Wasabi & Soy Sauce Flavored Almonds
    • Do you use "soy" in your products?

       

      Some products use soy, such as in soy sauce, or soy derivatives, such as hydrolyzed soy protein and/or lecithin as food additives for integrity and quality. As soy is a food allergen, any product containing it will indicate "soy" in the ingredient declaration and/or "contains" statement on the label.

    • https://www.bluediamond.com/faqs

Ingredients in the Smokehouse Almonds:

ALMONDS, VEGETABLE OIL (CANOLA, SAFFLOWER AND/OR SUNFLOWER), SALT, CORN MALTODEXTRIN, NATURAL HICKORY SMOKE FLAVOR, YEAST, HYDROLYZED CORN AND SOY PROTEIN AND NATURAL FLAVORS.

https://www.bluediamond.com/brand/snack-almonds/traditional-flavors/almond-smokehouse

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Blue Diamond Smokehouse almonds contain maltodextrin which can be a hidden source of gluten.  Maltodextrin is derived from rice, corn or wheat starch.  It would be highly recommended to ask specifically where the company sources their Maltodextrin. I almost moved forward with eating these after reading this post but thought it more wise to research the individual ingredients.  Glad I did.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
55 minutes ago, princessgamble said:

Blue Diamond Smokehouse almonds contain maltodextrin which can be a hidden source of gluten.  Maltodextrin is derived from rice, corn or wheat starch.  It would be highly recommended to ask specifically where the company sources their Maltodextrin. I almost moved forward with eating these after reading this post but thought it more wise to research the individual ingredients.  Glad I did.

The maltodextrin in those is from corn. In the US if it is derived from wheat it has to be declared.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I used to like smoked almonds, but I can't have corn or soy, so can't have. I also had a bag of regular, plain Blue Diamond almonds and seemed to get stomach ache and bloat any time I ate them, so I gave up on them.  I thought I had read an article online saying they day some of their products don't contain gluten ingredients, but that they did not actually test them for gluten.  So I guess just try at your own risk, and if you can handle them, that is great.  I realized I better not try their almond milk either. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...