Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

skbird

Modified Cellulose Gum

Recommended Posts

Does anyone know if modified cellulose gum can be gluten-containing? I have a few supplements that contain this and sometimes when I am taking them I have some gluten reactions (not certain if that's the only culprit but can't figure out what else would be). The company that makes the supplements is Planetary Formulas and I have called them three times and emailed four to ask about this. I never get a response and if I do get a live person when I call, they transfer me to customer service which evidently only has voice mail.

Yesterday I bought some Source Naturals B-12 and saw some B-6 by them next to it so I bought it without looking at that label. The B-12 is fine but the B-6 does not state that it is free of anything (like the B-12) and has modified cellulose gum in it.

I have found that "cellulose gum" is listed as non-gluten containing but the "modified" part made me wonder. I know "food starch" in the US is non-gluten but "modified food starch" can be.

Thanks for any info...

Stephanie

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Thanks - that's good to know. Now I'll have to figure out what else was giving me the problem... <_<

BUT that means I can keep taking these supplements as I haven't found any other with these formulas. So that's good news!

Stephanie

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Does anyone know if modified cellulose gum can be gluten-containing? I have a few supplements that contain this and sometimes when I am taking them I have some gluten reactions (not certain if that's the only culprit but can't figure out what else would be). The company that makes the supplements is Planetary Formulas and I have called them three times and emailed four to ask about this. I never get a response and if I do get a live person when I call, they transfer me to customer service which evidently only has voice mail.

Yesterday I bought some Source Naturals B-12 and saw some B-6 by them next to it so I bought it without looking at that label. The B-12 is fine but the B-6 does not state that it is free of anything (like the B-12) and has modified cellulose gum in it.

I have found that "cellulose gum" is listed as non-gluten containing but the "modified" part made me wonder. I know "food starch" in the US is non-gluten but "modified food starch" can be.

Thanks for any info...

Stephanie

I have big problems with cellulose. Including microcristaline cellulose and hydroxypropyl cellulose. Almost every medication seems to have them. I tried getting info from one manufacturer, and was told that 'they're not made from anything, they're chemicals'!!!

Unfortunately I do need a particular medication but after a few pills, get a gluten-like reaction. My doctors don't take it seriously because it is labelled gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites