mandy_c

Cheeseless For A Reason?

Rate this topic

so im kind of new to celiac disease, i was diagnosed with it about 4-5 months ago.

but im not new to not being able to eat cheese. i found out that i had to stay away from it because i would have severe issues afterwards and havent eaten it for about 4 years.

we could never figure out what my problem was, because im definetely NOT lactose intolerant.

and everytime i would tell someone i couldnt eat cheese theyd jump to that conclusion, and have to tell them "nope, its just cheese".

this past weekend, though, i was talking to some guy who happened to be a dairy farmer.

he told me that when the cheese is being made, they ADD GLUTEN/WHEAT into the milk to produce the cheese.

so hopefully im not the only freak whos been having problems like this, because they dont label it in the ingredients or as a fine print at the bottom saying that its processed with wheat.

anyone even a little sensitive to gluten should be really, really careful about cheese and cheese-like products, just in case.

i hope this can help anyone who has been having these problems as well.

Welcome to the board, Mandy.

I think that your farmer was misinformed. Gluten (wheat or otherwise) is not added to the milk to make cheese.

In the US, under the FALCPA legislation, wheat would, by law, have to be clearly disclosed as just that: "Wheat." You don't see it on the label because it is not in the food.

If you are casein-intolerant, then you must avoid cheese. Some celiacs are also casein intolerant. That is different from lactose intolerance. Lactose is milk sugar, and most cheeses, especially hard cheeses, are lactose free because the fermentation process of making the cheese consumes the lactose. All of the casein (milk protein) remains.