Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
mamaw

Taco Bell

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I have been reading several posts on this site that people are believing taco bell hard tacos are safe & gluten-free. I went to the website again to recheck the meat ingredients for their tacos. The seasoned beef for tacos contain oats. Not certified gluten-free oats so tacos are not safe for the gluten-free diet.

The seasoned meat used to contain wheat but they changed it from wheat to oats. I believe some just took for granted that no wheat meant tacos are okay but they are not.

Misinformation is worse than no information...

For the sensitive celiac this misinformation could cause a big belly pain!

sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

mamaw

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks mamaw, such good information.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi MommaGoose

You are so very welcome.

mamaw

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I used to eat at Taco Bell and shudder about it now. Too much junk in the food. Luckily we have two places here, Taco Del Mar and Taco Time that offer safe, healthy options.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I usually have the Nacho Supreme with chicken and I have never felt ill eating it. I consider myself as very sensitive to gluten. My body can handle certified oats, but I never dared to try none certified. Since I only visit US once or twice a year and I used to eat at Taco Bell before I got diagnosed a few years ago I really feel the cravings from Taco Bell when abroad, but by judging by previous comments about the oats I really should not try the hard shell beef tacos.

Have anyone here with a diagnose tried the beef with oats, if so how did you react to it?

Even more OT:

In Sweden one of the largest producer of taco spice mix changed almost all of the mixes from wheat flour to potato flour, they have adopted a policy that celiac and lactose intolerant should be able to eat all their products with a few exemptions (as wheat tortillas etc), but all spice mixes, nachos, tortilla chips, flavored nachos and tortilla chips, sauces etc are gluten free or are in the process to become. If only Taco Bell could adopt this, make all spice mixes and sauces gluten-free, since there are mass produced products out the markets.

All the other companies including the store brands have adopted gluten-free free spice mixes in Sweden, but one have to be aware that Sweden has a high percentage of celiac diseases compared to other countries.

EK

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I used to eat at Taco Bell and shudder about it now. Too much junk in the food. Luckily we have two places here, Taco Del Mar and Taco Time that offer safe, healthy options.

I always loved Taco bell but gave it up years ago. So is Taco time and Taco Del Mar safe? I know we have a Taco Time here But am not sure about Taco Del Mar. If they are safe what do you eat there?

Thank you,

Grump

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I always loved Taco bell but gave it up years ago. So is Taco time and Taco Del Mar safe? I know we have a Taco Time here But am not sure about Taco Del Mar. If they are safe what do you eat there?

Thank you,

Grump

Taco Del Mar has a gluten free menu listed on their website. They do have a few items on the menu that contain gluten so you do have to be careful when you order. We usually get their bowls. Daughter sometimes gets the soft tacos. They make them with corn tortillas, but they use double tortillas per taco so it's too many carbs for me. We've had the ground beef and the chicken. Their fish is breaded and I believe the pork contains gluten. They also have some things with flour tortillas.

Taco Time used to have nutitional information on their website. It would appear that many of their items are gluten-free, but they did list soy in some. I wrote to them to ask for the source of the soy. If soybean oil, it is okay for us, but we try to avoid soy protein. They never wrote back to me. And the nutritional information has since been taken down. Actually I haven't looked in the past few months so for all I know it could be back up again.

While I can't confirm that these things are totally gluten-free, we have eaten them there with no problems. Crisp ground beef tacos, beans, rice, Mexi fries, chips, pico de gallo, and I've had some of the salads. Gluten is not a problem for me thougn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×