Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

How careful r u about purchasing chicken? I see frequently the packaging says natural flavorings added. Do you think that is a wheat product to enhance the flavor? Anyone have any thoughts?

Debbie

www.myefusjon.com/1debbie

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I buy organic chicken. Nothing added.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The USDA has for years required that anything of nutritive value added to meat be clearly identified. This includes any type of grain. If it doesn't say wheat, rye or barley in the ingredients, it's gluten-free.

And if there WERE wheat in something else, it would also have to be listed under allergen laws.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I do not worry about my chicken, I only buy fresh, never marinated.

And if there WERE wheat in something else, it would also have to be listed under allergen laws.

Just remember, this only stands true of wheat, not barley or rye...barley and rye do not need to be listed on the label, not by law.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Just remember, this only stands true of wheat, not barley or rye...barley and rye do not need to be listed on the label, not by law.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you all for your quick reply! This forum is awsome!

Debbie

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The USDA has for years required that anything of nutritive value added to meat be clearly identified. This includes any type of grain. If it doesn't say wheat, rye or barley in the ingredients, it's gluten-free.

And if there WERE wheat in something else, it would also have to be listed under allergen laws.

richard

Just remember, this only stands true of wheat, not barley or rye...barley and rye do not need to be listed on the label, not by law.

This is confusing.

Do you mean that meat specifically must list anything added, but other foods may only list wheat, since wheat is the only defined allergen of the 'wheat barley rye oats' list?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
This is confusing.

Do you mean that meat specifically must list anything added, but other foods may only list wheat, since wheat is the only defined allergen of the 'wheat barley rye oats' list?

Meat is guided by USDA laws, one of which calls for anything that adds nutrition to be clearly listed. The USDA considers all grains nutritious and therefore requires that ANY grain added be listed. This in fact has been the law covering meat for a number of years now, even before the allergen law. All or virtually all of the broths or flavorings I've seen added to meat do not contain any kind of grain.

Others foods are covered by the FDA allergen law, which requires that the top 8 allergens, including wheat, be listed. Unlike with meat, rye, barley, and oats do not have to be listed, although I can't think of time I've found rye or oats hidden.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Meat is guided by USDA laws, one of which calls for anything that adds nutrition to be clearly listed. The USDA considers all grains nutritious and therefore requires that ANY grain added be listed. This in fact has been the law covering meat for a number of years now, even before the allergen law. All or virtually all of the broths or flavorings I've seen added to meat do not contain any kind of grain.

Others foods are covered by the FDA allergen law, which requires that the top 8 allergens, including wheat, be listed. Unlike with meat, rye, barley, and oats do not have to be listed, although I can't think of time I've found rye or oats hidden.

richard

Got it. Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
How careful r u about purchasing chicken? I see frequently the packaging says natural flavorings added. Do you think that is a wheat product to enhance the flavor? Anyone have any thoughts?

Debbie

www.myefusjon.com/1debbie

It's usually chicken broth to make it more"chickeny".Way to disguise cheap meat with no flavor.If you have a problem with MSG or carrageen, avoid it.Otherwise, you'll probably be fine.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×