mygfworld

Thyroid Problems...need Advice

Rate this topic

Hi, I'm havign some thyroid problems. I'm not sure yet if I'll be put on medication for Hypo or Hyper thyroid issues. Can anyone recommend what medications work best for them AND are gluten free?

Any other advice on what I need to know about thyroid problems?

Hi,

I am not an expert on thyroid problems, although I have some myself. I have a couple nodules and a cyst. I really think I am hypothyroid due to some symptoms I have had. Like sore shoulder joints, which added in sore knee joint on the right side, and then sore wrist on the right side. Also have had difficulty with memory and keeping focused on tasks, and sleeping/insomnia. Recently I found that my sore joints and other symptoms improved quite a lot when I ate some dairy. I think it kicked my thyroid into gear somehow. My doc (endo) says my TSH level is fine. But he can't explain why my symptoms improved. He refused to give me any medication for it. I found some dessicated bovine thyroid at the Vitamin Shoppe and am going to take one of those every few days to see if it helps.

I have seen other people post about using Levothyroxin and Synthroid and Armour. There seems to be a variety of opinions about which is best.

Are you having hypo or hyper symptoms? Treatment for the two are very different. I don't know much about hyper treatments except sometimes antithyroid meds, thyroid ablation, or surgery can be used to treat symptoms.