This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gluten-free Pet Food -- Really Necessary?

OliveBranch

OliveBranch Apprentice

Hi all,

I'm new to gluten-free and have noticed that some people suggest de-glutening everything, including pet food. I'm curious how many of you actually buy gluten-free pet food (cat food, specifically) and if it is really necessary. And if it is necessary, is it expensive, and do you have favorite brands?

thanks!

~Emily

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Mtndog Collaborator

If you're sensitive, you may want to do this. I did it for a long time just to rule it out as a possibility. I've noticed a lot of pet foods have recently cut out wheat gluten after the contamination made so many animals ill.

Gluten-free pet foods do tend to be more expensive (usually organic or holistic brands). I used one of the Wysong's mixes.

I use Castor and Pollux now which has barley and just wash my hands after feeding.

I think it's an individual sensitivity decision. If you're very sensitive (which I was when I first went gluten-free) it's worth it for awhile.

Here's a Open Original Shared Link that might help you.

mamaw Community Regular

If you have small children who put things in their mouths then yes I would go gluten free. Our pets are gluten-free because they react to gluten, vomiting, itchy skin, runny stools.

Everyone is gluten-free now at our house including the furry kids!

Animals react to things the same way people do. My vet bills are much less now that the furry kids are gluten-free!

mamaw

Gemini Experienced
Hi all,