Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
trents

Oberto's Original Beef Jerky: Beware

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

For several years since going gluten free I have used Oberto's Original Flavor Beef Jerky as it WAS gluten free. The other flavors by Oberto had wheat in them but the Original didn't. I would buy the double pack at Costco because the price was so good. I checked it again today and it now has a wheat-based soy sauce in it. Beware.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Many of the Tillamook Country Smoker jerky flavors are not only gluten-free but MSG-free as well.

http://tillamookcountrysmoker.com/

And they're really good. I've always preferred them to Oberto.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks! That's good to know. I doubt if I could find that brand at Costco prices, however.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hard to say. I can't remember whether I've seen it at Costco. It's available at every other store I can think of around here, including "bargain" type grocery stores like Winco.

I have also been to their factory store in Tillamook, but I suppose not everybody has that luxury. ;)

-Elizabeth

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I thought Oberto always had wheat in it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

According to their website, the original, hickory, and peppered are still gluten free. Is it possible there was a bag of teriyaki mixed in there? (I've done that before - picked up the wrong one and thought, 'darn it, they stopped being gluten free'.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
According to their website, the original, hickory, and peppered are still gluten free. Is it possible there was a bag of teriyaki mixed in there? (I've done that before - picked up the wrong one and thought, 'darn it, they stopped being gluten free'.)

I've been buying it for two years now, checking the label each time. As of last Costco trip, it does say "wheat and soy" on the regular flavor in addition to that on the teriyaki. This is true for the Costco and the grocery store versions. I just checked again today, before even reading this message.

I think that the addition of the wheat on the label may be a CYA statement (they don't want to get sued) perhaps because they make the regular and teriyaki versions on the same equipment.

Whole Foods 365 brand states "Gluten-free" on the label and is good - even the teriyaki flavor is gluten-free. Not as cheap, though, so I won't be buying it often. But for trips and camping, it will be useful.

~Laura

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×