Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts

I am very discouraged. I just got my endoscopy biopsy results back and after 2 yrs on the gluten-free diet my villi are still blunted. :( I went in for the EGD because I wasn't feeling as well anymore. My migraines, fatigue, skin rash... all came back. The thing is, I am SOOOO careful!! I don't eat out at all, and cook all my own meals, except I do eat alot of Amy's gluten-free/dairy free enchilada dinners when I'm crunched for time. I heard a RUMOR that Amy's Kitchen has had some contamination problems recently. Does anyone think there's any truth to this rumor? I really really need to pinpoint my gluten source. Thanks for any advice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Is there any way you could be getting a little bit in you? Do you prepare gluten containing foods? Does your spouse eat gluten and if so do they kiss you before brushing their teeth or mouthwashing the gluten out? Are all cosmetics gluten free...lipsticks etc..? Are shampoos, soaps gluten free? I'm wondering if anything is possibly slipping in.

As for Amy's meals...I eat them all the time. I know they are made in a factory where wheat is processed but alot of brands do that and clean in between. I have not found a problem with them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest nini

I eat Amy's meals all the time too and I don't have any problems with them. I think because Amy's is more vigilant about AWARENESS of food sensitivities, they are careful to avoid cross contamination.

I would think that it might be from some other hidden source of gluten, like lipsticks or lip balms or other beauty care products... or something like that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The last time I checked with Amy's, their policy was that "gluten free" meant no ingredients contained gluten, but they were prepared in the same facility as their other products. Some of the ingredient labels even state this (as well as peanuts and other allergens). Why this isn't on every one of their labels, I don't know. I haven't checked their website or called in a long time, but this is from me calling last year. They may have changed their policy. Personally I have reacted to all the Amy's products I've tried (that's why I called them), so I avoid them, but I know other people can eat them without problems.

Peace-

Nadia

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I only eat the mac and cheese as all the other gluten-free Amy's foods either have nightshades (tomatoes/potatoes/peppers) or tamari (can't eat fermented tamari sauce). I ate the veggies and brown rice bowl once but had an upset stomach after, plus didn't like the taste (it had tamari in it). But the mac and cheese has never caused me any trouble, except maybe being too many carbs at one shot for me. I lived on those this winter while my kitchen was being remodelled (I scored - they were on sale at the Grocery Outlet for 99 cents each! I bought about 20!)

Stephanie

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites