This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Medical Differentiation Between Celiac And Gluten Intolerance

elle's mom

elle's mom Contributor

My daughter is diagnosed celiac and I am still learning what I need to know. I have been reading a lot and notice sometimes celiac is classified as a gluten intolerance, but then other times gluten intolerance seems like it's referring to something altogether different, in its own category. Does anyone have a medical explanation for what the difference is? Does it have to do with the antibodies, or the intestinal damage, or something else?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

mushroom Proficient

Many pixels have been used on this question, and as far as I am concerned we are still not much nearer an answer. Sometimes I feel it is all just based on the inadequacy of the testing for celiac, because often the two conditions lead to the same result as far as GI and other gluten issues and other autoimmune diseases. But if the blood tests are negative for the antibodies and the biopsies are negative for villous damage they say you don't have celiac. Some doctors will diagnose on dietary response alone...others demand the gold standard of the biopsy. In the end it really doesn't make a lot of difference (except I suppose from a genetic point of view) because the treatment is the same. Others here may have more to add; I am no expert, just a frustrated gluten intolerant.

trents Grand Master