Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

We were talking in another thread yesterday about meat not always being gluten-free. I said I was going to check while grocery shopping today at Aldi's to see.

I checked nearly all of the fresh and frozen meats, and just about everything was "enhanced" with "solution" or "broth".

No ingredients listed on most of the packages, and those that did list them were pretty inconclusive as to what they really are. ("broth solution" as an ingredient. Seriously?)

Even Perdue chicken had this on sort of labeling!!

It's all a scam anyway :angry: The only purpose of "enhancing" meat is to make less meat weigh more, to rip off consumers.

I tried to make some calls while in the store, but unfortunately the inside of that store is a dead zone. Once home I hopped on Perdue's website and found out that most of their stuff IS gluten-free, even if "enhanced".

The Aldi's meats, I'm just not sure about.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is a law (I'm sorry but I can't think of it) that says if there is a grain product in meat then it must be clearly stated on the label. When I called Cargill about the ground beef they supply to Wal-Mart they said the natural flavor was a rosemary tincture and did not contain any grains. Give me a minute and I will google and see if I can find the exact wording of the law....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay, I couldn't find the wording but I did find out that if a plant protein is in meat it must be clearly labeled. So if you don't see wheat, rye, barley, or oats listed on the label it's gluten free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you for posting this. I keep reading differing opinions on meat labeling and your post caused me to take the time to answer a question I've had for awhile. After much research online and 20 minutes of phone calls to various departments in the USDA, here's what I found out: ***Please be sure to read all of the information as it contradicts itself.***

Meat, poultry, and egg products are NOT required to have allergen labeling.

This is straight from the USDA (the government agency overseeing meat, poulty, and fish). Here's the link: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fdd/facts/nutritio...enFactSheet.pdf

Here's the wording:

"FALCPA applies to packaged foods subject to FDA regulation, including foods both domestically manufactured and imported. That includes all foods, except meat, poultry, and egg products regulated by USDA

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Even under FALCPA, allergen statements are voluntary. If the allergen is disclosed by its common name in the ingredients list, the label complies with FALCPA. It can be disclosed in a voluntary allergen statement as an alternative to clearly listing it in the ingredients.

As an example, imagine a product contains sodium caseinate. It can be listed in the ingredients as "sodium caseinate (milk)," or it can be listed simply as "sodium caseinate" and a separate notice can say "Contains: milk." The "contains" statement is not required if the word milk appears in the ingredient list.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Assuming of course that they would include rye gluten and barley gluten in the above statement despite that they only list wheat.

Unfortunately they do not have to disclose anything but the wheat. If barley is used in a broth or as a flavoring agent it does not have to be disclosed. Same as with other foods. We have a long way to go for safe labeling regs for those of us with celiac.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Right. The FDA and the USDA are different and have different regulations. The top 8 allergens do not have to be listed on meat products since meat is under USDA.

http://www.fsis.usda.gov/Help/FAQs_Flavorings/index.asp

This is interesting and may answer more questions. It does state that if a vegetable protein is added to meat (i.e. wheat) it must be stated on the label. This is per a rule passed by the FSIS in 1990.

It really makes me not want to eat meat anymore. Yuk! :huh:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Unfortunately they do not have to disclose anything but the wheat. If barley is used in a broth or as a flavoring agent it does not have to be disclosed. Same as with other foods. We have a long way to go for safe labeling regs for those of us with celiac.

Is barley considered a vegetable protein? I was told by a very knowledgeable person in my local support group that it is and it must be disclosed on meat/poultry labels per the 1990 FSIS rule. But, if you know differently please let me know.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maybe items under the USDA do not have to list the top 8 allergens (although I doubt that) BUT they are required to list any grain added to meat. Period.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Is barley considered a vegetable protein? I was told by a very knowledgeable person in my local support group that it is and it must be disclosed on meat/poultry labels per the 1990 FSIS rule. But, if you know differently please let me know.

Not when it is in the form of barley malt, it is then considered a flavoring and flavorings do not have to be disclosed. If it was ground up and added as a filler then it would need to be declared but used as a flavoring it doesn't.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Maybe items under the USDA do not have to list the top 8 allergens (although I doubt that) BUT they are required to list any grain added to meat. Period.

richard

This is true. It stems from the times before it was regulated and some companies would add grains to bulk up the meat. If a grain is ground up and added it must be declared. BUT if the barley is in the form of malt it is then considered a flavoring agent and it does not need to be declared on the label it can hide under natural flavors in the broth just as it does in other food items. If the meat is plain fresh meat it is safe as long as the processing is safe but if a broth is added to it we do need to check.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
It does state that if a vegetable protein is added to meat (i.e. wheat) it must be stated on the label.

I can't remember if it was in the meats or not... but several of the McDonald's items in the ingredient list I found yesterday were like this:

sodium gezhundheit, nyet eathisite, dangerousite (derived from plant source), etc. (I can't recall any specific ingredients and don't have the link handy)

That made me wonder... "exactly what plants are they deriving from, because I can't eat all "plant" materials" :huh:

All of this makes me want to buy a couple of chickens, goats, and cows and live off on a farm somewhere...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Top Posters +

  • Upcoming Events

    • March 24, 2019 Until March 27, 2019
      0  
      NEW ORLEANS GOURMET GLUTEN-FREE mini GETAWAY    March 24 ~ 27, 2019   We have arranged a fun and Gluten-free food filled mini in the city known for it's food and fun.  We have arranged to eat many of the famous dishes that aren't usually Gluten-free at a few of the World Renown restaurants.   Staying at the Royal Sonesta Hotel on Bourbon Street in the center of the French Quarter, you'll be able to enjoy the ambiance of the city at all hours.   Our itinerary will include a Luxury Coach tour of the city and surrounding area - Admission to The National World War II Museum, including the Tom Hanks" 4D film "Beyond All Boundaries" - an exciting Airboat ride and tour through the Bayou.      This it the 3rd time we have visited New Orleans and it has always been well attended, so join us even if you've been there before.  Check out our website for the complete itinerary and cost.    Due to contractual obligations we must have 20 participants by October 31, 2018 to make this a go.      If you have any questions just give us a call at 410-939-3218.  Bob & Ruth info@bobandruths.com (410) 939-3218
    • March 27, 2019 04:00 PM Until 08:00 AM
      0  
       
       
       
      Celiac Emotional Healing Support Group
       
       
       
      Again you are invited to join Johnny Patout, LCSW for Baton Rouge's first emotional healing support group meeting to assist those living with celiac disease manage the emotional challenges so many of us face. Most often the emotional disturbances include depression, disinterest in normal activities, insomnia, grief, mood changes, anxiety, inability to concentrate, extreme concern about managing a gluten-free lifestyle and other emotional and behavioral challenges.
       
      The professionals at Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center created the emotional healing support group to give us a safe place to begin to process our emotions and support each other as we heal emotionally while managing celiac disease and the resulting autoimmune disorders.
       
      The emotional healing support group meets every Thursday, 6:00-7:00pm, at the Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center of Baton Rouge. Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center is located at 4637 Jamestown Avenue, Baton Rouge, Suite B-1. Suite B-1 is upstairs.
       
      The support group is free and open everyone managing celiac disease. For more information: emotionalhealingforceliacs@hotmail.com
    • March 30, 2019 Until March 31, 2019
      0  
      Nourished Festival is a family-friendly event with 10 locations across the US. Attendees will be able to sample food, health and beauty products, meet with companies, learn about the most current food lifestyles, receive coupons and attend educational sessions with industry experts. 
      Nourished Festival, managed by The Nourished Group and presented by Enjoy Life Foods, is the largest gluten-free, allergy-friendly and specialty diet event in the US, with 10 locations including.
      ABOUT THE NOURISHED FESTIVALS
      Managed by The Nourished Group, formerly The Gluten Free Media Group, The Nourished Festivals are the largest and fastest growing special diet consumer events in the United States. Started in 2007, the events have expanded from one to ten cities throughout the country. The festivals cater to anyone looking to lead a healthier lifestyle or those who follow a specialty diet due to autoimmune conditions, food sensitivities, allergies or intolerances. Offerings including Paleo, Keto, Plant-Based, Gluten-Free, Allergen-Friendly and Nut-Free products. The events provide the opportunity for attendees to sample and purchase new products, receive coupons, meet with brand ambassadors and attend educational classes with industry experts. For more information, visit http://www.nourishedfestival.com 
       
Hello, new here and new to the whole thing! My husband has been battling this rash and assorted digestive issues for years. He was diagnosed with contact dermatitis by the dermatologist, had some steroid injections and various creams over the last couple of years, and then in November he went to the ER and they said eczema and gave him steroid pills. This was after a huge bloom that pretty much hit him from head to toe, where it had been mostly arms and legs before. He finally concluded he
  • Blog Entries

  • ×
    ×
    • Create New...