This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Chex Mix

desschneider

desschneider Newbie

If anyone could please help, I am new to this. My daughter has celiac disease and we are looking for a chex mix like recipe. I noticed on the corn and rice chex it said malt and that is bad right? Does any one know of any subsitutes for those cereals. Thanks!!!!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

lovegrov Collaborator

Malt CAN be made from something other than barley but it almost never is. Rice and Corn Chex cereals are not gluten-free.

You can sub Rice Crunch 'Ems and Corn Crunch 'Ems. I find them at our natural foods store and at some Krogers. Of course there's no real substitute for the Wheat Chex.

If you need a recipe I'd bet you can find one easily by searching the Web.

richard

gf4life Enthusiast

The Original Chex Party Mix recipe (from a box of Chex cereal) altered to make it gluten-free:

2 TBSP Lea & Perrins Worchestershire Sauce (it's gluten-free)

6 TBSP butter

1 1/2 tsp seasoned salt (Lawry's is supposed to be gluten-free)

3/4 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp onion powder

4 1/2 cups Health Valley Corn Crunch'Ems cereal

4 1/2 cups Health Valley Rice Crunch'Ems cereal

1 cup mixed nuts

1 cup gluten-free pretzels

1 cup small gluten-free garlic flavored rice crackers or other gluten-free cracker (to replace the bagel chips)