Jump to content
Frequently Asked Questions About Celiac Disease Read more... ×
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I was at the health food store the other day and discovered something called Job's Tears. They're a largish grain/seed looking thing... I actually thought that each grain looks like a cross between barley and a black-eye pea.

I inquired and the staff was pretty sure that it's gluten-free, so I decided pretty sure means "don't buy it yet". Researching online I find that they're not related to a barley at all and they seem to be gluten-free.


Anyone eat this? I thought if it cooks up somewhat soft but firm it would be a great side dish, or a barley replacer in stew.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi KathiSharpe, I have not tried Job's tears but I also would be interested in this as a side dish. The NIDDK lists it as an allowed food.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now