Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
Ana11

Did Whiskey Make Me Sick?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Hello all,

I've been gluten-free for almost two weeks after testing positive for a severe gluten allergy. Last night at 9pm I had about 2.5 shots of whiskey. At 12:30am I woke up with one of the most severe headaches I've ever had and I vomited several times. I KNOW I didn't eat any foods with gluten, so I'm thinking the whiskey had to have been the culprit. I'm confused though because so many books and websites say whiskey is ok.

What are your thoughts? Thank you so very much!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Doesn't sound much like your standard gluten reaction. More like your body didn't care for the alcohol.

The whiskey should be gluten-free, although I guess it's possible there are whiskeys where gluten is added after distilling (I don't know of any by name).

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just because the alcohol (whiskey, vodka, tequila, etc.) is gluten free doesn't mean that you can tolerate it.

I think you'll find a lot of celiacs on this forum just don't tolerate it well, even after healing.

I've been healing for a year and I don't tolerate it much. Very occasionally, small amount (one mixed drink, one gluten-free beer, one glass of wine) and definitely must have it with food.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anyone know why some celiacs tend to have problems with alcohol when healing?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Before I got my Dx I didn't drink any alcohol for 8 months, my stomach just couldn't tolerate it. The other night I had 3 glasses of red wine and ended up with a terrible headache. It's difficult to know if that is the culprit, but many celiacs tend to be sensitive to acidic foods (tomatoes, vinegar, etc), alcohol, whole grains (even gluten-free ones), processed foods, dairy, etc. while healing.

Hopefully you can get back to enjoying a good whiskey once in a while soon :) Give your body time to heal and then slowly re-introduce any foods that you have been having problems with.

Good luck!

Jillian

Does anyone know why some celiacs tend to have problems with alcohol when healing?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

it is MY understanding that whisky---the scotch stuff made in Scotland is processed much finer and simply (single malt). Whiskey---the bourbon made in the US often adds other grains to enhance the flavors. I have never been bothered by the finer whisky's but the bourbon whiskey often does if I have much of it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
it is MY understanding that whisky---the scotch stuff made in Scotland is processed much finer and simply (single malt). Whiskey---the bourbon made in the US often adds other grains to enhance the flavors. I have never been bothered by the finer whisky's but the bourbon whiskey often does if I have much of it.

Any distilled alcohol is considered safe for people with Celiac to consume.

It is commonly known that your tolerance with change. Use caution :rolleyes:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I thought that whiskey is a grain alcohol and off limits, like beer. You might want to double check your sources that say it is ok. I stick to rum, wine, and tequila.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I thought that whiskey is a grain alcohol and off limits, like beer. You might want to double check your sources that say it is ok. I stick to rum, wine, and tequila.

Okey Doke! Can do...

http://www.celiac.com/articles/184/1/Ameri...Diet/Page1.html

At the most basic level the new guidelines mean that celiacs do not need to avoid foods containing unidentified vinegar or distilled alcohol, this alone will allow much more freedom when shopping or eating out. Further, celiacs who drink alcohol will have much more freedom and a far greater choice when they want to have a drink. Additionally, celiacs will be able to more easily maintain a well-rounded and nutritious diet because they will have access to a far greater number of highly nutritious and safe grains.

http://www.celiac.com/articles/222/1/Glute...ages/Page1.html

All distilled alcohols are gluten-free.

http://www.triumphdining.com/blog/gluten-free-alcohol/

All distilled beverages, a.k.a. spirits, are gluten-free. Distilled beverages with added flavoring are not necessarily gluten-free, but several type of American schnapps are. If the distilled beverage has flavoring, please check before drinking. Below is our list of definitely gluten-free alcohol. As you can see, there’s a very large variety that you can drink. Cheers!

Beer is in a separate category. Many years ago, distilled alcohol WAS considered unsafe. Leaning the ins and outs can be very confusing. :rolleyes:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×