Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
Timetrvlr

Another Hidden Source Of Gluten.

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I've read a lot of the posts on this topic but haven't noticed that processed meats were specifically mentioned. Things like hot dogs, salami, sausages, bologna, etc. They are euphemistically called "extended" meats meaning that manufacturers use wheat products as a filler on the assumption that grains are always a lot cheaper than real meat.

I think that may have extended the suffering time for me. Today, I was checking seemingly healthy eating canned soups and noticed that one included sliced sausage in it's ingredients. The sausage is likely an "extended" meat containing gluten.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't know where you are, but I will assume you are in the United States.

The only gluten source likely to appear in processed meat is wheat, and in the US, under FALCPA, the word "wheat" must appear either in the ingredients lists or in a "contains" statement.

If the meat is an ingredient in, say, a soup, then FALCPA definitely applies (only wheat is covered). FALCPA covers packaged foods, but meat and dairy are under USDA rules.

If the meat is sold as meat, then USDA rules apply and *any* added grain *must* be declared.

Wheat can not legally be hidden in the US. It must be disclosed, by law and regulation.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I looked up your other post, and see you are in Canada. The rules are different here, and they are generally at least as good as those in the US, but I am not sure about this specific case. Compound ingredients are supposed to be broken down in parentheses after the item, such as "Parmesan Cheese (milk, bacterial culture, salt, microbial enzymes, calcium chloride)" so the sliced sausage should have had a sublist identifying the meat source and other ingredients.

I am a Canadian-resident US citizen and am quite familiar with the labeling requirements in both countries.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the U.S. the vast majority of these products do not contain "fillers." For instance, the only hot dog I've found that isn't gluten-free is Nathan's, and wheat is clearly listed. About the only sausages I've found that aren't gluten-free are ones with beer in them.

Of course you should always check the ingredients.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Could you be having a problem with powdered milk? It's in a lot of soups and processed meats and for some people the reaction to dairy protein allergy and gluten ingestion are very much alike.

Hope this helps

RA

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×