mpgirl089

Endoscopy Vs. Biopsy- Do I Need Both?

Rate this topic

Hi everyone!

I'm going in for an endoscopy soon to check for celiac, scheduled by my GI doc, but I'm a little confused about the difference between a biopsy and endoscopy. From what I've been reading on here and other celiac sites, it sounds like most people have gotten diagnosed by a biopsy, but my doc just said "endoscopy" and didn't mention a biopsy. Do the two always go hand-in-hand? And if not, do I need a biopsy to diagnose for celiac, or will and endoscopy work as well?

Sorry if this sounds like a dumb question...I'm still kinda new to all this stuff, and I want to make sure they're doing the correct (and best) procedures on me..

Thanks !!

Hi everyone!

I'm going in for an endoscopy soon to check for celiac, scheduled by my GI doc, but I'm a little confused about the difference between a biopsy and endoscopy. From what I've been reading on here and other celiac sites, it sounds like most people have gotten diagnosed by a biopsy, but my doc just said "endoscopy" and didn't mention a biopsy. Do the two always go hand-in-hand? And if not, do I need a biopsy to diagnose for celiac, or will and endoscopy work as well?

Sorry if this sounds like a dumb question...I'm still kinda new to all this stuff, and I want to make sure they're doing the correct (and best) procedures on me..

Thanks !!