Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
0
RacerRex9727

Soy Lecithin A New "no-no"?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I have been doing a pretty good job of being gluten-free, but I had a strong feeling I was missing something. Some things that were labeled "gluten-free" were still making me sick, and these were organic brands like Trader Joe's and Sprouts.

I found out that a family friend also has celiac disease, but she says her doctor told her to stay away from soy lecithin because it is a new addition to the "foods to avoid" list in the gluten-free diet. He could not emphasize enough how bad soy lecithin was for a celiac disease person. When I looked back to all the gluten-free foods that made me sick, I NOTICED THEY ALL HAD SOY LECITHIN!!! Gluten-free chocolate, candies, and some baked goods had soy lecithin in them. I was shocked considering these were under the gluten-free label even though soy lecithin is supposed to be a gluten-free "no-no".

Is this very new knowledge or do some of you guys know about this already? Does soy lechithin make you guys sick too? Apparently it's protein form is similar to wheat's which is why it is in the same family of grains.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


it doesn't have gluten, and isn't on the no-no list for celiacs due to 'autoimmune response to the molecule' reasons. some people avoid it because they cannot tolerate soy, and some people avoid it due to the excess soy processing to get the ingredient. but yes, something can be gluten free (contain no wheat, barley, rye, or oats) and have soy lecithin.


Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"

Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy

G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004

Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me

Bellevue, WA

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Soy lecithin is a problem for many of us, but I don't believe it has any relation to gluten. It is just an often associated intolerance.


Neroli

"Everything that can be counted does not necessarily count; everything that counts cannot necessarily be counted." - Albert Einstein

"Life is not weathering the storm; it is learning to dance in the rain"

"Whatever the question, the answer is always chocolate." Nigella Lawson

------------

Caffeine free 1973

Lactose free 1990

(Mis)diagnosed IBS, fibromyalgia '80's and '90's

Diagnosed psoriatic arthritis 2004

Self-diagnosed gluten intolerant, gluten-free Nov. 2007

Soy free March 2008

Nightshade free Feb 2009

Citric acid free June 2009

Potato starch free July 2009

(Totally) corn free Nov. 2009

Legume free March 2010

Now tolerant of lactose

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have problems with it but I have a problem with all soy.


Lupus, Connective Tissue Disease with Fibro type symptoms, Anemia, Anxiety, Depression, RA, Rynauds Syndrome, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, Erosive Gastritis, Osteoporosis, Degenerative Disc Disease, Scoliosis, Bulging discs in lower back and neck, Pinched Nerves.

 

Soy free, MSG free, mostly Dairy free. Endoscopy shows blunted Villi which dr states as gluten sensitivity, so goin back to being gluten free

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just recently diagnosed soy intolerant based on an IgA test. I've removed all soy and its made a VERY big difference in my symptoms but agree with everyone that soy is gluten free in itself. Just wish it was as easy as wheat to find on food labels!


Kathy

Gluten free 3/08

Negative blood work/positive endoscopy

Fructose Malabsorption

Soy free

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you so much for writing this Thread! Soy and Soy Lecithin has caused me trouble for sooooo long. I eliminated it early on and it is such a bummer because so many foods have it in it. Almost every chocolate bar has it :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am allergic to soy and dairy, so it is especially hard to find anything prepared, but it can be done. you just have to have expert skills in label reading, it gets easier, believe me.

 

try Enjoy Life products if you are wanting cookies, chocolate, etc. they are pretty good, just expensive as you can imagine.


gluten free since 11/12  

dairy and soy free since 1/13

chocolate free since 6/14

 

I miss my chocolate!!!   but I'm not sick anymore, and that's what really matters  :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello community, Self diagnosed Celiac guy from Sweden here...

Im writing this to approve that this is a real thing and NOT nescessarily a soy-allergy (not for me anyway)

I have the same problems with Soya Lecithin as Gluten, so yeah its on my no-no list, 

I get the same inflammation in the body, and feel very feverish just the same as gluten, (i do NOT have the traditional symptoms like stomache-ache and diarhea) 

The interesting part is that i can eat soy flour and other "natural" soy ingredients, and im feeling just fine

Soya Lecithin is a fat extracted from flakes of soy beans, to get these fats out, they use HEXANE to separate the fats from the flakes, and it might be these residues in soy-lecitin that activates the auto-immune response in some celiacs? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I realised I was reacting badly to chocolate and narrowed it down to the soy lethicin - I have found Perugina chocolate which is made with sunflower lecithin and I can eat this without reacting - mercifully!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0