Jump to content
  • Sign Up
RacerRex9727

Soy Lecithin A New "no-no"?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I have been doing a pretty good job of being gluten-free, but I had a strong feeling I was missing something. Some things that were labeled "gluten-free" were still making me sick, and these were organic brands like Trader Joe's and Sprouts.

I found out that a family friend also has celiac disease, but she says her doctor told her to stay away from soy lecithin because it is a new addition to the "foods to avoid" list in the gluten-free diet. He could not emphasize enough how bad soy lecithin was for a celiac disease person. When I looked back to all the gluten-free foods that made me sick, I NOTICED THEY ALL HAD SOY LECITHIN!!! Gluten-free chocolate, candies, and some baked goods had soy lecithin in them. I was shocked considering these were under the gluten-free label even though soy lecithin is supposed to be a gluten-free "no-no".

Is this very new knowledge or do some of you guys know about this already? Does soy lechithin make you guys sick too? Apparently it's protein form is similar to wheat's which is why it is in the same family of grains.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

it doesn't have gluten, and isn't on the no-no list for celiacs due to 'autoimmune response to the molecule' reasons. some people avoid it because they cannot tolerate soy, and some people avoid it due to the excess soy processing to get the ingredient. but yes, something can be gluten free (contain no wheat, barley, rye, or oats) and have soy lecithin.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have problems with it but I have a problem with all soy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just recently diagnosed soy intolerant based on an IgA test. I've removed all soy and its made a VERY big difference in my symptoms but agree with everyone that soy is gluten free in itself. Just wish it was as easy as wheat to find on food labels!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am allergic to soy and dairy, so it is especially hard to find anything prepared, but it can be done. you just have to have expert skills in label reading, it gets easier, believe me.

 

try Enjoy Life products if you are wanting cookies, chocolate, etc. they are pretty good, just expensive as you can imagine.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello community, Self diagnosed Celiac guy from Sweden here...

Im writing this to approve that this is a real thing and NOT nescessarily a soy-allergy (not for me anyway)

I have the same problems with Soya Lecithin as Gluten, so yeah its on my no-no list, 

I get the same inflammation in the body, and feel very feverish just the same as gluten, (i do NOT have the traditional symptoms like stomache-ache and diarhea) 

The interesting part is that i can eat soy flour and other "natural" soy ingredients, and im feeling just fine

Soya Lecithin is a fat extracted from flakes of soy beans, to get these fats out, they use HEXANE to separate the fats from the flakes, and it might be these residues in soy-lecitin that activates the auto-immune response in some celiacs? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...