Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
Becky C

Isn't Maltodextrin A Gluten-containing Ingredient?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I'm very new to the gluten-free diet, and I'm still learning what to look for on labels. I did some research of a bunch of different (credible) websites when I first started on the diet, and made myself a little "cheat sheet" listing all the ingredients that contain gluten or may contain gluten to look for on a label. One of them is maltodextrin, but it's on the list of ingredients on the Thai Kitchen boxes, and they say they're gluten free. Am I mistaken, or is it one of those that only sometimes means the product contains gluten (depending on the source), or is there something wrong with Thai Kitchen?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, maltodextrin is not a source of gluten.

USA Code of Federal Regulations

Sec. 184.1444 Maltodextrin

CAS Reg. No. 9050-36-6. It is a nonsweet nutritive saccharide polymer that consists of D-

glucose units linked primarily by [alpha]-1-4 bonds and has a dextrose equivalent (DE) of less than 20. It is prepared as a white powder or concentrated solution by partial hydrolysis of cornstarch, potato starch or rice starch with safe and suitable acids and enzymes.

http://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh...cfm?fr=184.1444

Note: FDA also permits the use of other starches including wheat, but they must be labeled. For example, if wheat is used it must be labeled "wheat maltodextrin".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm very new to the gluten-free diet, and I'm still learning what to look for on labels. I did some research of a bunch of different (credible) websites when I first started on the diet, and made myself a little "cheat sheet" listing all the ingredients that contain gluten or may contain gluten to look for on a label. One of them is maltodextrin, but it's on the list of ingredients on the Thai Kitchen boxes, and they say they're gluten free. Am I mistaken, or is it one of those that only sometimes means the product contains gluten (depending on the source), or is there something wrong with Thai Kitchen?

That is confusing however maltodextrin is sugar from corn. As long as you can tolerate corn and corn gluten you are fine :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Your cheat sheet is old. IF maltodextrin comes from wheat -- which does indeed VERY rarely happen in products from Europe where they are excessively paranoid about GMO corn -- the wheat MUST absolutely be identified. This is a law separate even from the allergen law, which would also cover maltodextrin (at least in food).

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Peter et al,

I'm finding that even when I am 100% sure the maltodextrin is from corn and a US source, I"m still having a problem with it.

I'm wondering if there are any other studies on maltodextrin and celiac or other allergies to maltodextrin itself.

Ken

No, maltodextrin is not a source of gluten.

Note: FDA also permits the use of other starches including wheat, but they must be labeled. For example, if wheat is used it must be labeled "wheat maltodextrin".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Peter et al,

I'm finding that even when I am 100% sure the maltodextrin is from corn and a US source, I"m still having a problem with it.

I'm wondering if there are any other studies on maltodextrin and celiac or other allergies to maltodextrin itself.

Ken

I have two books that I rely heavily on for information. The two books, however, contradict each other on the subject of maltodextrin. Elisabeth Hasselbeck's book has an allergy card in it. Her allergy card says maltodextrin is NOT acceptable. My other book, The Gluten-Free Bible by Jax peters Lowell, says maltodextrin is okay. Lowell says maltodextrin is made of corn, rice, or potato and is gluten free as long as made in the U.S.

I have always allowed maltodextrin in my diet, and it has not caused any problems for me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I have two books that I rely heavily on for information. The two books, however, contradict each other on the subject of maltodextrin. Elisabeth Hasselbeck's book has an allergy card in it. Her allergy card says maltodextrin is NOT acceptable. My other book, The Gluten-Free Bible by Jax peters Lowell, says maltodextrin is okay. Lowell says maltodextrin is made of corn, rice, or potato and is gluten free as long as made in the U.S.

I have always allowed maltodextrin in my diet, and it has not caused any problems for me.

Unfortunately, both books you referenced are riddled with inacurancies and dated material.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Unfortunately, both books you referenced are riddled with inacurancies and dated material.

I have found that foods with Maltodextrin cause "glutening" symptoms for me, so I stay away from it. No Cherry Garcia :o

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What I understand is: If in the US, maltodextrin is supposed to be gluten-free. From corn, rice, or potatoes. If outside the US, laws are not as strict and can be questionable. Bottom line for all of us, we are more sensitive and can react to things differently, so evaluate on a personal level if you are having a problem. Some Celiacs do have problems with corn gluten. Not the Celiac part but other food allergies part like soy allergies or dairy etc. It is a processed grain.

Our diets have to be tailored to ourselves, however maltodextrin is gluten-free under US regulations. If you are having a problem with it everywhere maybe it is a corn allergy, if you are having a problem with a certain product maybe it has contamination from processing. In my opinion, go with your gut and eliminate the product or corn from your diet for a while.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×