Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
Rdykilowat

Gluten Free Labeling

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Can anyone comment on using products that don't appear to contain gluten based on the ingredients label, but are not labeled gluten free, and are likely produced in a facility that also processes wheat? I have been trying to navigate the gluten-free diet for approximately three months now, and I get nervous about this issue. I am also always concerned about a product that lists, as an example, natural flavoring. If I understand correctly, by FDA standards, if the natural flavoring contained an allergen, it should be listed in an obvious way ("natural flavoring (wheat)"), but I am not familiar enough to know if I can make the assumption that if it does not list wheat or gluten, that it is safe to eat.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When you are unsure, the best thing to do is call the company!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unsafe ingredients: http://www.celiac.com/articles/182/1/Unsaf...ents/Page1.html

Safe ingredients: http://www.celiac.com/articles/181/1/Safe-...ents/Page1.html

A list of companies that has a clear gluten policy. If you don't see "wheat, rye, barley, barley malt, oats" on the labels, its not there, or hidden in "flavors, starches, etc." http://www.glutenfreeindy.com/foodlists/index.htm and http://glutenfreeinsd.com/product_updates.html

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×