Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Wandering Hermit

Made A Mistake And Ate Puffins

Recommended Posts

Gee, just when I thought I was getting the hang of this....

I see Barbara's Puffins (Peanut Butter) in the store, it says Wheat Free on the front, so I buy it and eat a few. Then I look at the ingredients. Duh, I am so stupid. What a great way to learn wheat free is not gluten-free.

Now I am feeling very lightheaded an hour or two later. I feel like I just wasted the last two weeks of being gluten free and all that work. How depressing.

WHy on earth makie the point of being wheat free when it is no good to a celiac? Who would benefit from wheat-free but not gluten-free?

:angry:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Guest nini

don't beat yourself up, I did THE EXACT SAME THING shortly after going completely gluten-free. I was very angry at myself until I realized that I just still had a lot to learn. Puffins seemed like such a good option, and I was really dissappointed to learn they were not gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some people have wheat allergies and that is for people who just can't have wheat...definitely not for celiacs.

I have seen things that say wheat free but have rye,barley, or oats in them. Mistakes will happen along the way so don't beat yourself up about it.

Feel better

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've seen cookies in a healthfood store that say "GLUTEN FREE" on them. They were "Oatmeal raisin" cookies, and, wondering what substitute they used for the oat, I read the ingredients.....first ingredient, I think, was oats. I didn't eat any or even buy them, but it shows how careful you have to be. Sure, uncontaminated oats aren't bad, but I'd bet the oats were contaminated.....and since the US has no definition of what gluten-free means, anyone, really, could write gluten-free and use oats.....

Don't worry about that, though....for a full month after starting the diet, I thought it was just wheat, rye, barley, oats.....didn't think of modified food starch, natural flavors, etc. :rolleyes:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A lot of people are allergic to wheat but can have the other gluten containing grains that we cannot. This stuff is for them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dear Wandering One,

don't discount the good job you did prior to your glutenous goof. The previous 2 weeks were not for nothing. And your mistake was also not for nothing, because now you're a little bit wiser. Congratulations! You've been initiated into the world of skeptical shopping. Don't allow yourself to be lulled into a false sense of gluten-free security! Keep reading those labels; you're gonna be fine.

Paula

p.s. "Um, I love my kids?"

Beautiful! :P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some of the Puffins cereal IS gluten free; I eat it all of the time. Whoever wrote that last post is right; I think it's the honey kind...

Here's a tip: on the side of the box it will have a long list of things about the cereal. On the one that is gluten free it will say "gluten free." The other Puffins do NOT say this on the side of the box. Just look for that and you'll be OK.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites