Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I have coeliacs but still suffering from fat malabsorption and bone issues even though been gluten free for months. I never drink alcohol because of my stomach problems but I am going to have a little drink and just wondered which is the best alcohol to drink. I was thinking of drinking vodka and wondered if this would be okay and also what drink could I add to it. Thank you very much.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah vodkas usually safe thats what I usually drink. I'm not 100% sure if all vodkas are gluten free but I know most are. Smirinov is for sure so I just stick with that. I usually mix it with sprite and a bit of water. Other then that most hard liquors are gluten free, one I know of for sure is Gin. Gin and tonic's always a safe bet and all wines are also gluten free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I have coeliacs but still suffering from fat malabsorption and bone issues even though been gluten free for months. I never drink alcohol because of my stomach problems but I am going to have a little drink and just wondered which is the best alcohol to drink. I was thinking of drinking vodka and wondered if this would be okay and also what drink could I add to it. Thank you very much.

http://www.celiac.com/articles/222/1/Glute...ages/Page1.html

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I love red wine :) If I were going for vodka, I would have a screwdriver (vodka w/ 100% pure orange juice). Vodka can go with almost anything: cranberry juice is another nice option. Enjoy whatever you decide.

Cheers,

Jillian

I have coeliacs but still suffering from fat malabsorption and bone issues even though been gluten free for months. I never drink alcohol because of my stomach problems but I am going to have a little drink and just wondered which is the best alcohol to drink. I was thinking of drinking vodka and wondered if this would be okay and also what drink could I add to it. Thank you very much.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I only do potato vodkas. They claim many of the grain ones are ok because of the distillation, but I swear if I drink even a few sips of a grain vodka, I fell out of it, but I can drink a glass of potato vodka & be just fine. Some wines are ok, but some places uses wine in the barrels, etc. So I always check online before i try anything.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Smirnoff vodka is made entirely from corn. There are other beverages with the Smirnoff brand name which are not gluten-free. In particular, Smirnoff Ice is usually malted barley, not distilled corn (it varies from state to state and country to county based on local law).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm very sensitive and have not had a problem with wine. I've had wines from all over the world.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I tend to stay away from the mixed drinks. Mixed drinks have caused me problems on at 3 occasions in recent memory. Not pretty.

I've decided wine or gluten-free beer when available.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wine is my choice when dining out. No worries there.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for all your replies. It is most appreciated.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×